We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great view of Death Valley and the salt flats”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Book In Advance
More Info
$218.99*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A great view of Death Valley and the salt flats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Dantes on 2/20 and found it to be a great view on the valley. Be prepared for some wind and cooler tempatures (we ended up wearing our winter coats and gloves) but the view is worth it. You get a good view from the parking lot but hike the 1/4 mile out to the overlook for a better view.
The drive up is paved and pretty easy, the last 1/4 is a bit twisty and steep but nothing to worry about. Overall it took us about 1/2 hour to make the drive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    248
    34
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views, but time of the day is important”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I think Dante's view is the perfect destination - the views are awesome, the road is beautiful.
I believe the height of that place is just right for the views you see, we also visited Aguereberry Point which is at higher elevation and while it was also very nice I liked Dante's view more.
But the time of the day is important - we had to go there twice, because first time we got there after sunrise at Zabriskiy point (like 1.5 hour after sunrise) and part of the Valley was in a shade, so we couldn't take good pictures, so we went there for the second time in the middle of the day and were able to see the whole valley.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Possibly one of the most beautiful view points on earth, it's a photographers paradise. It is a must when visiting Death Valley. Easy access via paved and well maintained road and parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meraj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow. Just wow! Don't miss this view: entire Valley! Paved road the entire way.
If you are traveling into Valley via 129 right on your way in or out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The view from the top was spectacular. We were there at dusk, with many others. Dante's View has an otherworldly feel. It is one of many features in Death Valley that make the park far more than the dusty dry gulch I anticipated.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galoshes2Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing