We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing like it!”

Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes
Book In Advance
More Info
$238.99*
and up
Death Valley Tour from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
HYATTSVILLE
Level Contributor
228 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nothing like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is yet another different terrain in this very diverse park. Several miles of tall sand dunes stretched out in front of us, surrounded by several mountain ranges! Walking on the dunes makes for good exercise as well as a chance to look for animal prints, particularly around the bushes scattered widely among the dunes. This area must be especially beautiful in the sun of the early morning or late afternoon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    221
    54
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This was one of our favorite hikes in Death Valley. We looked out over these incredible dunes and chose one of the highest ones to hike. Well, it can be tough going up and down the dunes and much further than you think to reach that high dune! But we are so glad we persevered. It was an amazing sight from the top. You could see all the dunes and the surrounding beautiful mountains. It was work but well worth it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank m0j077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were staying at nearby Stovepipe Wells Village, and stopped on the highway several times to take photos. (from the west in the morning; from the south in the afternoon -- to get the most dramatic shadows. We also drove out to the parking area one night to see the stars without interference from lights -- and were stalked by a coyote who came within about 50 yards of us, barely visible as a shadow in the half-moon's light.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a beautiful, quiet place. If you want some great photos, get there very early in the morning before all the visitors leave their footprints everywhere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Sand Dunes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

It's one of the must-see places at Death Valley!
Although I wasn't there during the best times (sunrise or sunset), I still thought the sand dunes were amazingly cool! If you're tight on time or lazy, you can just walk a few minutes from the parking lot and snap some wonderful pictures of the dunes. You may have to walk farther out to avoid fellow tourists ending up in your pictures though. Not too far off the parking lot, there were some tumbleweeds and tree roots that were great for posing too.
You really get the desert feel there. Go and have fun in the dunes!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vviviann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing