We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to walk on sand dunes in January”
Review of Eureka Dunes

Eureka Dunes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These dunes, the highest in the state, are located near Death Valley.
rockford ,IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great to walk on sand dunes in January”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It is not often that we Illinoisans can walk on sand dunes in January. This was a fun walk, not to be missed in your drive through Death Valley.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the long drive”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

You don't need 4x4 for this, just high clearance vehicle. There are about 45 miles of gravel rocky roads (north of the Crater), and the rocks are not as sharp and big comparing to RaceTrack. If you can do Titus Canyon, you can do this. You will be rewarded with a huge 700 feet Eureka dune. The hike up to the peak will take an hour, the scenery is out of this world. One will think they are in the Sahara desert with big sand dunes. The small dunes (~100 feet) around Stovepipe is NO comparison to this. If you coming from Lone Pine area, you should definitely do this, since there is less unpaved road from that direction.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Al Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected sight”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you have driven into Death Valley National Park from the southern entrance after seeing the salt flats I think you will be a bit amazed to see California's tallest sand dunes rising up to meet you. We got there just as twilight was ending and so did not get a chance to walk out on the dunes. Will save that for the next visit to the park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rkw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How to walk in loose sand of the dunes.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Tip I was given by two little kids at Great Sand Dunes Natl Park years ago: Take off your shoes and hike with just socks. Much easier and feels great to the feet! My wife and I did it several years ago at the Stovepipe Wells dunes, and plan to do the same this yr when we drive out to Eureka.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
458 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Dunes what can you say”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's cool to see the dunes in the park but we also have been to white sand and thats much better in many ways. But this is just one of many different landscapes

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UKVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Dunes also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Eureka Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing