We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unexpected sight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Dunes

Eureka Dunes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These dunes, the highest in the state, are located near Death Valley.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you have driven into Death Valley National Park from the southern entrance after seeing the salt flats I think you will be a bit amazed to see California's tallest sand dunes rising up to meet you. We got there just as twilight was ending and so did not get a chance to walk out on the dunes. Will save that for the next visit to the park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rkw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How to walk in loose sand of the dunes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Tip I was given by two little kids at Great Sand Dunes Natl Park years ago: Take off your shoes and hike with just socks. Much easier and feels great to the feet! My wife and I did it several years ago at the Stovepipe Wells dunes, and plan to do the same this yr when we drive out to Eureka.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
384 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Dunes what can you say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's cool to see the dunes in the park but we also have been to white sand and thats much better in many ways. But this is just one of many different landscapes

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UKVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunrise a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We managed to catch an afternoon at the dunes and the shadows for photography was good but nothing like we experienced at sunrise. Lots more color and shadows. Unfortunately we did not get a sunset there but still it is awesome to see sand dunes in the middle of the desert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Eureka Sand Dunes, Death Valley National park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

the highest dunes in California - about 700 ft. If you get to the top, start sand sliding down the slip face and listen for the dunes to "sing" - or hum, really... not many dunes do this. Amazing valley, great place to camp. fun to sleep up on the dunes when weather is nice.

Helpful?
3 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Dunes also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Eureka Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing