We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great oasis in the midst of a inhospitable landscape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here in the last 2 years and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in room 216 which has its own parking space and outside seating area (which we used to dry our clothes in 20 minutes!). The room was very comfortable as was the bed.
We ate in the corkscrew saloon and it was really busy but had a nice atmosphere. The food was tasty and the beer even better!
The shop has plenty of food and gifts and we thought it was well stocked for where it was.
We love it here and we would highly recommend experiencing this hotel as well as death valley itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TASmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at The Ranch last week in May 2014. Found the cabins/rooms to be perfectly ok for our purposes which was as an overnight stop from LA to Vegas. The drive in was spectacular and Death Valley as a whole very scenic and hot. We we arrived late afternoon it was about 120F so after check in headed straight for the pool. The pool area was large and well kept and a welcome relief in the heat. The cabins themselves were smallish but fine for a short stay. Bathroom was the same but perfectly functional. The air conditioner worked well as you would need it too in the heat. Staff at the front desk were pleasant and efficient and very helpful. Overall a nice place to stay in a area with few options. Drove in past Stovepipe Wells and the other small settlement, whose name escapes me at the moment, and just on looks alone it would appear that the Ranch would be the best of the available choices. Food there is limited although they had a few places where you can eat. I have written a review of out experience in the restaurant section of TA.
Overall, I think it would be the pick of the places to stay in Death Valley, not least because of the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel has a steady clientele of out of country tourists. The rooms were just okay for the price paid. Clean with a ceiling fan and small fridge. We had a package deal that included a portion to be applied towards breakfast. There was some confusion around the breakfast and payment, but eventually everything was sorted out and we left happy. They serve a pretty good lunch buffet for $14.95 which we enjoyed. Be forewarned temperatures during the summer are 112+ (it was 119 the 2 days we were there). Beautiful scenery, best seen from an air conditioned vehicle stocked with plenty of water. The menus are online so you can see what you're in for. Probably won't return to the area any time soon for a repeat stay. Once is enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I think all the rooms at Furnace Creek Ranch are in little cabins. Ours was fairly basic but comfortable with a kingsize bed and perfectly adequate bathroom. The air conditioning was really noisy which was unfortunate because it was essential (45 Celsius) - so not the greatest night's sleep.

The resort includes an interesting museum, swimming pool, tennis courts and large grassed areas for games, picnics etc. It is very pleasant - though I cannot imagine playing tennis in that heat! There is a good general store and a couple of restaurants offering everything from light snacks to fairly fine dining.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and contributed to an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

You may wonder why someone would spend the night in Death Valley? Death Valley is an amazing place and if you don't spend the night you are missing out on part of the experience! This is a great hotel with really comfortable beds! It is a fun place to visit and stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonHalazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to break up the drive from Vegas to San Fransisco. Was brilliant - room was pretty basic and beds werent massively comfortable but quite good enough for a short stay. There is shampoo, conditioner etc in the room which was gorgeous, and available to buy if you wanted. View from the room was gorgeous, looking out onto a golf course.

Complex is designed in a way that makes you feel you're in a western! Complete with general store, the food on site was perfect (which is just as well as there didnt seem to be much close by!)

Of course the weather was crazy hot and you couldnt really do much outside... there was a stables on site and if we had been staying longer I would definitely have wanted to take advantage of the horse rides offered (although maybe when the sun wasnt quite so hot!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins at the front of the Ranch. It was rustic, but pleasant. We had some trouble with the heater (it was cold at night- we were there in January). The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean enough (not spotless). The bathroom was newer and nicer than the bedroom. The Ranch included a couple of places to eat, a laundromat, a stable, a general store, a post office, a museum, and a park. We enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located inside Death Valley, so it is relatively easy to see quite a few of the attractions (Death Valley is quite large and spread out).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
9.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
348 reviews
27.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
710 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $274 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing