We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Too hot for summer, but decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Too hot for summer, but decent”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel has a steady clientele of out of country tourists. The rooms were just okay for the price paid. Clean with a ceiling fan and small fridge. We had a package deal that included a portion to be applied towards breakfast. There was some confusion around the breakfast and payment, but eventually everything was sorted out and we left happy. They serve a pretty good lunch buffet for $14.95 which we enjoyed. Be forewarned temperatures during the summer are 112+ (it was 119 the 2 days we were there). Beautiful scenery, best seen from an air conditioned vehicle stocked with plenty of water. The menus are online so you can see what you're in for. Probably won't return to the area any time soon for a repeat stay. Once is enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    2,424
    1,213
    393
    203
See reviews for
1,424
2,869
119
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I think all the rooms at Furnace Creek Ranch are in little cabins. Ours was fairly basic but comfortable with a kingsize bed and perfectly adequate bathroom. The air conditioning was really noisy which was unfortunate because it was essential (45 Celsius) - so not the greatest night's sleep.

The resort includes an interesting museum, swimming pool, tennis courts and large grassed areas for games, picnics etc. It is very pleasant - though I cannot imagine playing tennis in that heat! There is a good general store and a couple of restaurants offering everything from light snacks to fairly fine dining.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and contributed to an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
287 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

You may wonder why someone would spend the night in Death Valley? Death Valley is an amazing place and if you don't spend the night you are missing out on part of the experience! This is a great hotel with really comfortable beds! It is a fun place to visit and stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHalazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to break up the drive from Vegas to San Fransisco. Was brilliant - room was pretty basic and beds werent massively comfortable but quite good enough for a short stay. There is shampoo, conditioner etc in the room which was gorgeous, and available to buy if you wanted. View from the room was gorgeous, looking out onto a golf course.

Complex is designed in a way that makes you feel you're in a western! Complete with general store, the food on site was perfect (which is just as well as there didnt seem to be much close by!)

Of course the weather was crazy hot and you couldnt really do much outside... there was a stables on site and if we had been staying longer I would definitely have wanted to take advantage of the horse rides offered (although maybe when the sun wasnt quite so hot!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins at the front of the Ranch. It was rustic, but pleasant. We had some trouble with the heater (it was cold at night- we were there in January). The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean enough (not spotless). The bathroom was newer and nicer than the bedroom. The Ranch included a couple of places to eat, a laundromat, a stable, a general store, a post office, a museum, and a park. We enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located inside Death Valley, so it is relatively easy to see quite a few of the attractions (Death Valley is quite large and spread out).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

First off, this place is hot.....your eyeballs dry up straight away from stepping out of your vehicle.
Second, this place is HOT!
Third, if you don't like insects.....don't go, there are some big flying things which won't go away!

The ranch. Only place in town, captive market, captive prices. Restaurant is ok. Rooms clean and cool, a bit dated in my opinion. Overall complex is really nice, pool was like getting into a warm bath, alas though the Germans were in town and had taken all but one sun lounger!
Allow at least 2 days here, there is plenty to see but we did an overnight stop on way to Yosemite NP.
Hotel offers free WiFi and parking.
Take plenty of water with you.

Oh, and did I mention......it's HOT....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zugara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Drove here from Scottsdale, Phoenix, to be honest...this stop was part of the itinerary given to us by American Sky. Truth be known I wished we hadn't stopped and carried on out of the valley that day to a nicer hotel.
When we got there about 1200/1300 the guys in reception were very good and had a great sense of humour, the temperature was kicking in at 116 degrees and it was 'Hotter than being on the sun!'
The room was the same build and design as the Grand Canyon Park Lodge, that was basic and to be very honest...not that good.
We ate in the bar and it was terrible, cold and yuk...served by a young lad who was straight out of 'Deliverance!' If I heard any Banjo music I was getting into my Challenger and 'hoofing' it!!

We left the hotel at 0400hrs in the morning as had a drive and a half to Yosemite, like I said earlier...we saw Death Valley and the next day wished we had of drove out of the valley and got somewhere better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mapesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
45.1 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing