We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

A western theme ranch in the middle of DeathValley: different. We found it enjoyable.

Liked the duplex cottages. Compact but did the job. And the air conditioning worked: essential in those temperatures.

Water from the cold tap was warm. Found the swimming pool to be too hot, which makes a change. Water comes from a warm spring apparently.

An interesting place to stay. We stayed at the Ranch. Don't understand why the Ranch and Inn are lumped together here as they are two different hotels a mile apart.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    2,451
    1,232
    397
    204
See reviews for
1,445
2,899
120
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

There certainly isn't much choice to stay in Death Valley! The room was a decent size and had 2 queen sized beds in it, shower was pretty good too!
AC was noisy and at 100 degrees+ it is defiantly needed!!!
Pool is nice and is the only place to cool down!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claireb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First off, the location of the Furnace Creek Ranch is superb. It's located close to many of the attractions of Death Valley. It's sister facility, Furnace Creek Inn is right up the road. There's a gas station right next door, and the official visitor center is between the hotel and gas station. There's a small store on the property as well as a couple of restaurants. And last but not least, a large pool and a golf course. Pretty much everything one would need in one central location.

After a quick check in, we found our accommodations to be a clean, large room with two queen beds. Lack of electrical outlets dates it to a time before handheld electronics. But we managed to find a couple of outlets for our stuff. The room had a refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, plenty of pillows, and shampoo/conditioner/body wash in a nice shower. Bonus points for a shower drain that actually drained the way it should! A small patio contained two rockers and table with a view of a fairway. And the wifi was faster than that of many places I've stayed. All in all, it wasn’t fancy but offered everything we needed.

The restaurants were a bit pricey for what you get, but there's nothing wrong with the food. The staff was friendly and competent.

The pool is large and heated via hot springs. The grounds are very nicely maintained. You can pretty much walk the entire property if you have no mobility issues. We were in the furthest building, and still found it to be an easy walk to the entrance where the restaurants and small store are located. There is also a small Borax museum on the grounds.

We hit great weather, with the temperature being in the upper eighties/lower nineties during the day. I don't think I'd want to stay there much past May, until late fall hits. It gets pretty toasty over the summer. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you're a senior, check the online senior discounts. You can save a few bucks, especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillK1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I guess the Inn is much nicer, the ranch is wll... Very basic. Rooms are fairly clean, though look quite outdated, AC is so noisy it makes sleeping through it a challenge and, unless you have an unit on the ground level, there really isn't any space for you to sit outside (except for a very, very small balcony).
The location cant't be beat though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frankandsofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abcoude, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a really special place, how they can keep this place running in these harsh conditions is a miracle. The pool is fantastic. They have a solar lookout which is great. Every visitor to Death Valley should experience this place. We had a very nice stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Furnace Creek Ranch: Rooms were spacious, clean, and air conditioned. Closely located to three restaurants, a general store and a museum. Great oasis on the east side of Death Valley. I'd stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch on the recommendation of friends and it was even better than expected. Our room was a good size and comfortably furnished, with french doors opening onto a small patio with a couple of chairs (although all patios are open so there is no privacy). The room had a fridge and additional sink, under-sink cabinet (good for storing supplies!) and a small amount of counter space. The bathroom was small yet completely adequate. We ate in all of the restaurants and were extremely impressed by the standard of food and service. While it's not exactly cordon bleu, everything we had we enjoyed. My husband had filet mignon one evening and said it was superb. I particularly enjoyed the fish sandwich in the more casual restaurant. Portions are large and one order was easily enough for two people. We booked to eat at the Inn one night and the Ranch provides a free shuttle service, which is handy if you don't want to drive the albeit short distance. (Note to espresso lovers: there's no espresso at the Ranch but you can get it at the bar of the Inn!) The Ranch has a General Store with a good grocery section, the usual array of souvenirs and a large variety of staples. It even sells spare bike parts (inner tubes etc)! We took our bikes and there was ample space to store them inside the room. This is an ideal location in Death Valley, the accommodation is clean, comfortable and well priced, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,716 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing