We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at a hotel in the valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Death Valley
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel, while modest in most respects, truly bespeaks the atmosphere of the west and the desert -- a ranch like setting with each room having its own sense of privacy. Bring your swim suits for the spring-feed pool (warm as you might expect). Get away from the lights of the motel and wonder at the many stars in the night sky.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank blackamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 5,560 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here while in the park for a scientific conference. Our friends stayed at the pricier Inn, which we could not afford, so we stayed at the Ranch Resort. Overall, it's a unique and decent place to stay, definitely MUCH, MUCH better than a hotel that we once stayed at in Beatty, when we were in the area to explore Titus Canyon. This is much more of a family place, and it's much cleaner and nicer.

It is definitely a kid & family-friendly place, with a playground, and a really large, warm pool, with showers. We visited in November, and it was nice taking a dip in the warm pool at night, gazing at the stars. Our 8 year old LOVED it, as well. There are some nice seating areas close to the pool, but we did not have time to take advantage of that, or the nice seating areas with fire pits, towards the front of the property, by the shops and restaurants.

The grounds, which have an old Western theme, are kind of cool, especially for kids. We were really busy attending the conference and exploring DV during the day, and didn't get to spend much time on the grounds, which we would like to do next time we stay.

We met our friends for dinner at the more upscale Inn. The food was pricey, but good, and it was LOVELY, sitting on the patio, taking in the starry night and moonlit view of the valley floor. There was a nice gentle breeze, and we could hear the little waterfall by the stairs. It was an overall great ambiance, and we'd go there more often when visiting DV, if we could afford it, lol.

Back at the Ranch Resort, I really liked having a nice balcony with french doors. That was nice and unusual for a hotel. ...Even though we liked the Resort in general, I have to add that we felt it was over-priced for the quality of the rooms, which were a bit outdated and noisy. They were clean, but nothing to rave about, besides the french doors & balcony. The water pressure in the shower was one of the worst of all the hotels we've stayed in over the years. The rooms were not sound proof, and we could hear people speaking loudly in the halls as they walked by, hear their footsteps, and lots of doors slamming. That was not very relaxing at all. We could also hear the very loud air conditioning units outside when we opened the French doors, and that was also a bit disappointing. There was no elevator to the second floor, so if you are traveling with heavy luggage, ask for a ground floor room, or else have fun hauling it upstairs.

Despite the cons, we would still choose stay at the Ranch Resort again, with our kids, because of the western theme, heated pool, interesting grounds & activities, the fact that it's right in the National Park, and the overall clean, safe & family-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My choice for this review included two hotels, not one. The Ranch at Furnace Creek is a 2-3 star facility while the Furnace Creek Inn is 4-5 stars.

We came with a tour group and were in building 700. The hallway carpets were heavily stained, and the walls badly scuffed. The first thing I always look at in a hotel is the bathroom. This one had long black hairs in the sink, bathtub, and stuck to the bathmat from a previous tenant. Tile grout was in need of a 'deep clean'. The walls inside the room were badly scuffed up to 3-4 feet high as you entered the room. Room also had a bad smell. The pipes in the walls knocked anytime someone turned on water in the building, not just the room above us or next to us. Therefore, a constant rattling of pipes starting around 6:00am and continued until close to midnight. They clean the rooms early in the morning, and if you are in your room at the time, chances are they will forget to come back and clean the room. When I called about this, they sent someone right away to take care of the problem. The grounds around the Ranch were fairly well maintained. Swimming pool was clean, but no umbrellas to sit under to get away from the sun. No towels available at the pool. Food was marginal in the dining room, but breakfast was good in the cafe. The general store was clean and had a variety of food and goods for purchase.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Built in 1927 this classic hotel graces a rare oasis in the desert. We hiked until mid afternoons and then retreated to the splendid pool and park like surroundings. Dinner at the hotel was very good. It's worth the money to get a view across the valley to the mountains. The property is elegant and somewhat timeless. For some reason it matched my image of the Eagles' Hotel California.

The only drawback is price. With extremely limited competition, the rooms are expensive. The ranch cabins offer basic accommodation at a reasonable price. The Inn offers ambiance and style at an expensive one.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms with views have a nice outside sitting deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Furnace Creek Ranch, (it's the more affordable option, the Inn is more pricey). We drove from Las Vegas, toured the south side (Badwater area) of Death Valley and came into the Ranch in the evening. We got our room, but wanted one with a nicer view, and they worked to find that for us. The room was hotel type, but had a sliding door and a nice balcony with rocking chairs. There was a coffee maker and mini refrigerator in the room. It was nicely decorated, cean and the bed comfy. The Ranch has a bar, restaurant and general store. We had a moderately priced meal at the restaurant (cheeseburger/fries), and then walked over to the general store to see what was there. It had a nice variety of souvenirs, as well as necessities and we made note of the deli wrapped sandwiches that were available, so that we could go by in the morning and pick some up for our picnic lunch the next day. This is just a short drive to the visitor center, and not far to the Golden Canyon Trail, which we hiked the next day. I'd stay at the Ranch again if I wanted more time in DVNP.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch for two nights in late March. Great time. Friendly, quick check-in. Lovely scenic 2 1/2 hour drive from Vegas. Room 221 was small, but clean and comfortable. Air condition worked great and ceiling fan above bed. Rocking chairs on porch with both sun and shade spots. My 8 year-old son and I enjoyed the driving range! The golf course is beautiful and the lowest course below sea level at 214 feet below. We played basketball, tennis, shuffle board. There was also a playground, lawn bowling, and volleyball court. We did not horse back ride. If I had to find a complaint, the pool doesn't have a shallow end for children. The food and gas are expensive, but they always are at National Parks. The Death Valley Visitor's Center is very close to ranch. Gave us hiking tips for a great short hike on Golden Canyon Trail. Safe and easy hike for families. You can turn around whenever you want and head back. I paid just about $200 a night for this one queen bed room, but felt the location and service were worth it. I would definitely stay here again and wish I knew of other properties like it. Great for families with kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to spend a couple of days in the ranch for our honeymoon and tour death valley. Now I have been to basic hotels and motels but what they all have is pride for what they do and are clean. This place was neither. The room was filthy. We ended up leaving as much as we could in the car overnight and put our dirty clothes in a sealed bag. We checked out the next day. The woman on reception could see we were leaving early and had the cheek to ask if we enjoyed our stay!

Oh,and food was no better. I have had a better burger at Denny's or In n out than what passes as a burger in this place.

All in all...don't go here. They rip you off and don't actually care. You would have more entertainment burning your money!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Travel-bunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
330 reviews
27.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
699 reviews
0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,848 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $279 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing