We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A real Oasis in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real Oasis in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived here in a thunderstorm in August in 113F heat!!
A well run and comfortable hotel/complex with value for money prices and restaurants
There are a couple of restaurants, a shop, a museum and a nice swimming pool to enjoy too...and the Golf Course of course..but I would imagine that would be too hot to play in August!
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    2,239
    1,094
    327
    169
See reviews for
1,301
2,595
101
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at here en route to Las Vegas. I thought it was pretty obvious that competition was limited. The beds were clean but the room we stayed in was tired with marks on the paint. We were on the ground floor in block 7 and the noise from the floor above was significant. We were offered a choice of upstairs or down and next time I'd go for upstairs. The air conditioning which was essential was very noisy, but my clever husband rectified this but jamming the wooden cover for the tissue box under the ac unit. Sadly by this point I was no longer speaking to him. We had a drink on site margarita's with prickly pear ( sweet - ick) and dinner, burgers - looked safest, but not vey good. Good points, they have a launderette, handy if touring, and it's better than camping. You should consider bringing your own food with you and some tools for the ac.

Room Tip: Upstairs better than down
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins. The overall setting of the park is very nice, it's gives you a wild west feeling. The accommodation is a bit dated and nothing really special.
We ate at the park which was very good. As others also mentioned, prices are high, it's between 1.5 and twice the normal US prices. But ok, it's in the middle of the dessert.

Be aware that the fuel prices are also high, so fill it up before you move into death valley.

Would go for 3 stars for the stay, but setting and food makes it 4 stars for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Note that the Inn and the Ranch are two different properties. You would require a vehicle to travel between the two. The picture provide on TripAdvisor is of the Inn.
I stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch during the October 2013 Federal Shutdown. You would never know about it by staying at the Ranch. The service and amenities were excellent. We were very pleasantly surprised how unique and perfect the setting was. You get the feeling of being out in the middle of the desert, 280 below sea level, still with excellent services. On the Ranch property there is a grocery store, gift shop, high end jewelry shop, three tasty and friendly restaurants, and a gorgeous 82 degree spring fed pool. I would never stay anywhere else. Arbors, putting green, outdoor fires pits, bar, horsebackriding all on premises. Many excellent sites in Death Valley National Park are just a few minutes away (one must drive deep into the park to see the sites). You could easily stay a week and not get bored.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 921 at the back of the property. This was a wonderful location, on the back edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it to be a very good base for exploring Death Valley. It is an easy drive from Las Vegas where we had rented a car. The resort is right beside the major National Park Centre and within a few minutes of several major visitor attractions. When we arrived quite a few hours early, the staff were very accommodating and allowed us immediate access to our room. This was very welcome as the temperature was already 114 degrees F. Our room was cool, spacious and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and good storage space. There is a beautiful pool which we used every morning and evening. Our only real problem with the resort is the poor quality of the food offered in the restaurant and bar. We ordered a very simple meal (a hamburger and a bowl of chili) and both meals were served cold. The staff did apologise and brought hot replacement food which was adequate. Unfortunately there is no other place to eat at this location at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent the night here after traveling from Bakersfield to Las Vegas. The room was in the cabin and it was small but clean. The bathroom was very small and if you were a very large person you'd have a hard time with it. They had a couple of chairs outside the room and that was nice for sitting with coffee. The restaurant and bar were nice since you could walk to them and after driving a long distance that worked. The pool was to die for...nice and warm and plenty big enough. The overall cost I thought was high but then I was in Death Valley so expected it. If you want a 5 star you won't get it here but if you want a decent place to stay in the VAlley on a trip its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Furnace Creek Ranch while on a road trip. Didn't know what to expect with it being fairly remote, but we were very pleased with the room and facilities.
The ranch and its buildings are made to have the feel of an old western town which we liked.
The room was clean and the usual pretty big size that America rooms tend to be.
Good sized pool which is warm spring fed, great to watch the sunset over the mountains.
Very friendly staff at the general store and bar/restaurant.
Only down side was the food in the bar could have been better. It seemed like generic frozen/reheated food and some chicken was served raw. Although they apologised and replaced the dish it was not ideal. I would recommend paying a bit more to eat in the steak restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Otel so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing