We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room for Death Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We loved our one night stay at the Ranch. The room was clean, spacious and the service was excellent. The staff is very knowledgable about the Valley and are eager to help. We wish we could have stayed for two nights to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere, and our balconies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,175 - 2,181 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Simple but comfortable and clean rooms. Food choices are limited due to location. The bar is always busy and you are quite often waiting to get served which can be annoying. the breakfast buffet was busy and unorganised. However, the amazing scenery is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed over at the Ranch for 2 nights in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We first visited 3 years ago and a couple of things have changed, the restaurant is more a relaxed area than it was previously but the food was still very nice.

The accomodation is perfectly good, we were opposite the natural spring pool - which is a must do. Where else can you swim in a naturally fed spring pool with a constant temperature of 82 degrees?

Of course the surrounding area is a place of stunning natural beauty so you'll not get bored with views like it has to offer

The check in staff were very polite, waiting staff very polite, and all other staff come to that matter other than the bar staff. Rather surly and almost a touch grumpy dare i say, let the rest of the place down rather disappointlingly.

My only other complaint would be the price of the fuel. I appreciate they have a captive audience as there are no other stations around but it would be nice to have the price a little more reflective of the state average, it was $2 a gallon more than in Vegas!! So, fill up before you arrive!

All in all, a very nice stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are two other options in the area, so your choices are limited. We stayed there for five days.

Rooms: The hallways and rooms are musty and the walls have holes, marks, dirt, etc. The beds are lumpy. Mold in the bathroom.

Food: There is a buffet, bar with food and a breakfast-only diner. The buffet is the nicest option for a sit down meal, but several of us were sick on two separate occasions.

Tennis/Basketball: They didn't have tennis rackets. They said they were stolen and were waiting to replace them.

Room Tip: If you like fresh food, bring your own. The general store has a very limited selection of fruits and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Furnace Creek Ranch is literally a stop gap on the way to some where else and so fills that gap. However, the aircon in the room was tired and sounded like an engine starting up all night. Dinner at the saloon was simple but good - our server Stan was great. The buffet for breakfast next door however was diabolical and food ran out for guests regularly. They were also serving up pudding and calling it yoghurt! There are other lidgings around the area and it's worth doing a little research before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not really a lot of other options in Death Valley as you would expect! This hotel was OK, room was clean and comfortable (and cool most importantly!). We were only here one night, just passing through so didn't spend a lot of time here.

Not a lot more to say about it really, did the job for a night. We didn't use the pool as it was just too hot! Certainly an interesting place to visit generally, if only for a short time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Ranch last week for 3 nights and it was good. We've stayed inside other national parks hotels like Zion, bryce, grand canyon north rim & the Ranch was very similar. Priced because of location, but it was clean, near to some of the locations for sunrise, sunset.
Jerry on the front desk was great and checked to see if a room was available at 10.30am & it was so we could check-in early.
The pool area was great, perfect temperature in 111f temps! And it has good hours to 11pm.
There isnt any real cold water in the rooms, but you are in DV so what can you expect.
The best place to eat was the 49ers cafe, ok prices & good food and friendly staff.
I'd stay here again next time we visit DV over Stovepipe, the area is more lively for sure but not crazy busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
9.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
347 reviews
27.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
709 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $274 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing