We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stopover for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stopover for the night”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great service upon arrival at reception even though travel agent had messed up our booking. Pool was a bit crowed, so difficult to find some shade. 49er restaurant great food and prompt service. Managed to squeeze in 9 holes of golf in early morning on lowest course in the world (highly recommended) as course is in great condition taking into account harsh conditions in the valley.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PALZ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    2,451
    1,232
    397
    204
See reviews for
1,445
2,899
120
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a bit worried about staying here after reading some mixed reviews. Yes it does look a bit tired in the public spaces but they were having new air conditioning put in to the lobby area so that could explain the grubby appearance on the stairs.
However, the room was very comfortable, although it is the only place I have ever stayed in where the cold water came out very warm! (An interesting experience) , and clean and it was lovely to arrive & then take a dip in the pool & watch the sun go down.
Dinner was an experience. It was 'family style' - not a concept we are used to & it wasn't explained particularly well either. However the food was good, although it was difficult to see quite what you were eating as the restaurant was very dark! Breakfast was not on site but at the ranch down the road - again this was not explained to us & we had to waylay a passing housekeeper to ask.
All in all we came away thinking the hotel was quirky & fine for a single night. Richard on the registration desk was very helpful & quite a character.
Basically if you stay in a hotel in the middle of the desert then expect a few quirks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When we visited Death Valley in 2004, we only stayed one night and so were very keen to return if we could. This time we stayed two nights, which gave us much more opportunity to experience its uniqueness. Having been very happy with our previous stay at Furnace Creek Ranch, we had no hesitation in staying here again. Not surprisingly, given its location, it is not luxurious, but the rooms are more than adequate and are very reasonably priced and the food, particularly the breakfast and lunch buffets, very good. If you make sure that your expectations are realistic, you should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were so impressed with our stay at Furnace Creek Ranch. Having been told it was fairly basic, we were so pleased with the room, which was newly refurbished and really comfortable. The setting could not have been better. Dinner at the bar was great and the bar staff were chatty and friendly. The heat was just incredible so the air conditioning in the room was so welcome! Having had an average stay near Yosemite this place just proved that you can have a modern, well-presented hotel in an isolated location and we were pleased we stayed here. We'd definitely return! The visitor centre was also extremely informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fortunately after we broke down 23 miles away from here in Badwater California and luckily had some other tourists bring us to safety here, out of the 127F heat (June). The front desk and restaurant staff were very kind and accomodating with us, even though we didn't end up staying overnight. They were able to let us use the phones, notify us of the tow truck, etc. From what we saw of people checking in, and people in the bar - it was a friendly place and they certainly were a big help to us. If we were ever back this way, would certainly stay a night or two. Just wanted to post a review advising at least of we saw of the place in the 4 hours we were stranded.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank madstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the ranch, it's isolated in what looks like a valley of fire and yet they make it homey. No easy task, but with a great staff, champagne buckboard rides etc they pull it off. Obviously the location is one of the most unique and stunning places anywhere so it has that going for it :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and quiet and the rooms were lovely and comfortable...not the ritz but cool, clean well equipped. The bed was heavenly. The air con was a bit noisy but with 113 deg C outside I was not bothered by it, we had a fan running over the bed, too and we had a comfortable night. I wasn't impressed with the evening meal though, you didn't get a choice as it was a pretty fixed menu. Unfortunately, my beef was a bit tough, the baked potato wasn't quite cooked enough and the dessert was a but tasteless but hey! It's not like we had a choice of dining elsewhere so we made the decision not to have breakfast and to find somewhere en-route. Wish we had eaten breakfast because it was about 4hrs before we found somewhere. Never mind, the hotel was still very nice and a welcome retreat from the blistering heat. I would stay again but make sure I had a sandwich or pack of biscuits as back up!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamahafz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,716 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing