We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Spot-Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This ranch is located in Furnace Creek, hottest spot on the planet. It is a good size and we stayed in cabins, had a great nights sleep and prices reasonable. They had 2-3 spots to eat at, good pool, museum on hand and a good store to buy food/supplies.
The 49 er restaurant offers good food and prices are fair. I saw that on the bill they automatically allowed 15% tip, was sort of surprised that was the customer perogative. I gave them 20% but found it unusual that they did that. Service was good, great for families, the low season is summer but the place was full of people from Europe. There are only a few options in the area, you can try Furnace Creek Inn, last year when I was there they had a code that you had to wear long pants to dinner and that annoyed me because this is ONE HELL OF A HOT AREA AND THE ONE AREA WHERE YOU WOULD NOT WEAR LONG PANTS, I think they have changed that. I think the Ranch less formal than the Inn and would recommend the Ranch.

Room Tip: I liked the cabins not too far from the road, it is quiet but a good central spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,312 - 2,318 of 5,570 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Okay there may be few other choices of places to stay in Death Valley, but I really liked Furnace Creek ranch.

We only stayed for one night as a stop over on the way to vegas, but it was really good. The rooms are basic, but clean and there are nice balconys if you're mad enough to sit out in the heat! It was like being in a fan oven the day we were there, over 100 and gale force winds, so not ideal, but the staff are really welcoming and the beds were comfy. The air con is very good but noisy so bring earplugs if you want to sleep! It sort of reminded me of a nostalgic best western from the 90s mixed with a frontier ranch - I loved it!

On the dining side of things there are 3 places to choose from on the resort, a rather dodgy looking buffet which i avoided, the bar and a cafe where myself and my boyfriend ate. It was good service and wholesome tasty food, I had no complaints at all.

Theres also a shop where you can get groceries and souvenirs which was open till 10pm which was very handy.

Theres also a pool and I think a golf course although how anyone could play golf in that heat is beyond me!

Overall a great place to stay and driving through death valley is incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamhie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Really nice room,which was large and clean.the ranch is amazing.it has a swimming pool which is great in the morning,a bar and several restaurants,only complaint is that the breakfast wasn't great,not a great choice.close to many sights is also good

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the ranch during the heatwave in June 2013. We stayed in first floor room and the room was really comfortable and had everything that you need. The ranch is easy to find and has a wide range of facilities including a shop, restaurant and pool. Great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just remember that this hotel is in the middle of no where and has to manage with the extreme heat and remoteness of DV. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The rooms are not large or luxurious but they are absolutely fine for resting up overnight after a hot day. As others have said the air con is noisy and I don't know if that's down to old air con units or general overuse but the temperature was over 120 most days but having noisy air con was not a complaint of ours. We ate both nights in the saloon watching the baseball on the tv with the locals (employees) which was all great. We didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast there as the shop that's there had a really good supply of food etc and even takeaway coffee and pastries so we went here each day and then sat in the shade outside. There is a launderette on site which is for guest use at a minimal fee. All in all an excellent resort that is doing what it can to cater for guests in such harsh surroundings. Would return again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor overlooking the golf course and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe 2 queen bed room at Furnace Creek Ranch. The room was on the ground floor overlooking a grass area towards the swimming pool.

We found the room to be a fairly decent size however the bathroom sink area was a little on the small side. We found the beds to be extremely comfy which gave us a good nights sleep.

The swimming pool was wonderful! It was a short walk across a grass area to get to from the patio of our room. It was fairly large and the water was lovely and warm which was fabulous to relax in after exploring Death Valley all day. We did see several people first thing in the morning trying to use the pool but it was still locked, it could definately do with being open earlier!

We ate at Furnace Creek steakhouse and found the food to be of good choice and good quality.

The general store was well stocked and had a good variety of food, ornament, clothes, etc... Yes items were slightly overpriced compared to other places but you are in the middle of a desert and National Park!

The gas at Stovepipe Wells was $1 cheaper so ideally fill up before entering Death Valley but if you do have to top up, visit Stovepipe Wells.

Overall a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for just the one night on the way from Vegas to Yosemite. On the way down to the hotel you will come across signs asking you to pay an entrance fee to the park, they ask for $20. DO NOT PAY IT you wont need to.
Check in was efficient and the chap gave us some good local information.
Room was on the first floor in the 600 block there were two double beds which were very comfortable and plenty of pillows, bathroom with a bath but no bath plug. The room was clean and had a balcony with a table and a couple of rocking chairs.
There is a pool which is fed by a warm spring and it is really refreshing to dip in to cool off from the searing heat.
Eating - there are 3 restaurants to choose from on the site, there is a buffet in the eve and that is $36 per person all you can eat, next door is the 'saloon' which is where we ate and on the night the service and the food was poor but they add a 15% tip to the bill automatically which I felt was a bit steep.
Breakfast again was a buffet and you have to pay as you enter $11.25 again the food was not brilliant but staying here you have little choice.
I can say that the free wifi Internet access is very good.
Things to do here are few and far between visit Bad Water the lowest place in the Western Hemisphere and I think there are some golf courses about - not for me.
Our trip started in Las Vegas to Death Valley to Yosemite to Carmel to Nappa Valley to San Francisco so if you would like any information about driving and things to do please contact me.

Room Tip: Don't pay the $20 fee on the way to the hotel try and get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
9.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
346 reviews
27.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
709 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $274 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing