We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool is great at 125F”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Swimming pool is great at 125F”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's difficult to rate the value for money in the middle of Death Valley. I can say that everything worked and the room was comfortable and clean. The swimming pool is quite large and was very enjoyable for late night and early morning refreshment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordParsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    2,451
    1,232
    397
    204
See reviews for
1,445
2,899
120
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford,Pa
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a visit to Death Valley National Park. The staff was friendly and the room was clean but due to its location there was no internet. The restaurant was okay and you don't have a big choice! The location is great and there is a lot to see. Get gas before you get to park because once in the park it is expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Ranch for three nights. We'd reserved a cabin, but upon check-in learned they were being renovated, so were "upgraded" to a motel room. While not new, it was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed to escape the harsh heat, incl. a refrigerator. Xanterra is very environmentally-conscious; their on-site practices are awesome. I injured my knee one evening; hotel staff responded immediately to our request for assistance, assessed the injury, offered options, and helped get me back into our room. Restaurant choices are limited to those at the Ranch (and the more formal Inn) and are not inexpensive, but food was well-prepared. General store and gas station are predictably very expensive, so it's best to bring in what you think you'll need while there.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountains (most do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

on arrival was greated with a warm and friendly smile.. got our room which was ok, nothing great but hey your in the death valley, air con noisey but welcome in 120f, it was clean and bed comfy that's all you need and yes a fridge for beer and wine . the local café was nice and if ur gluten free this is where to go sorted my wife out no problem which I was surprised to find gluten free in death valley but welcome.. and theres a lovely Chinese woman working there shes very helpful a star.. the bars and food are lovely plenty to check out. and the local store shop has everything you need, and of course the pool its lovely and worth a dip in this hea,t and scenery is out of this world. we got a photo of a coyote walking past on the main highway nice to see. loved our stay here scenery is amazing here and the drive to furnace creek,, we drove to SCOTTYS CASTLE 1hr away well worth a visit amazing mansion and scotty is quite a character google him hes quite a man.. cant wait to come back. as we never got to see all of death valleys history i.e. ghosts ha ha next time the ghost towns cant wait, on site here it furnace creek there is all the old waggons trains carts allsorts to read upon and take in a lot ov history well that's it for now roll on next time

Room Tip: higher rooms have a bit more protection from things coming into your room ie bottom room we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Check-in were quite miserable which didn't make for a pleasent start,but it was all good after that.Room was comfortable while not being opulent,so it was perfect for a one night stay.After spending day sight-seeing in 110+ degrees temperature,headed straight for the saloon-style bar,and after several ice-cold Stellas,all was right with the world.Food was OK,but small portions by American standards and slightly over-priced.Suppose they have a bit of a monopoly in the area as not many hotels nearby.Service was great and our waiter was very friendly.Would stay again for one night if in the area and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABESUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamps
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We paid extra for the "deluxe" room but struggled to find anything deluxe about it - its was a standard motel like room but it was nice to have the rocking chairs outside. Pool is great- shame it doesn't open a bit earlier in the morning .Enjoyed pizza and beers in the saloon . Overall good for exploring death valley but would be nice if they invested a bit more money in it .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We debated detouring to Furnace creek in the summer, and we very glad we did on a 112 degree day. The spring fed pool was an oasis in the hot afternoon. We got up at 5.45 AM to tour at a pleasant 88 degrees, and we finished by 10, and were back in the pool.
The Ranch rooms are pleasant, like slightly upscale motel. Had a fridge and i think a microwave. Easy fast check in, 3 options for dinner, we ate in the cafe, and it was good. Only one breakfast option in the summer, it was a buffet, but is excellent and reasonably priced (under $12 for many choices). lots of activity choices, like the museum, tennis, golf, bocce, playground, but it was too hot all but the museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,715 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing