We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“I deal location, right in the middle of Death Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I deal location, right in the middle of Death Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stunning location, we went to the Grand Canyon after here and Death valley was equally impressive. Furnace Creek was a clean family friendly place. Eating out a little high, but not extortionate considering they have a captive market. We stopped a little before and after Furnace Creek wherever we saw a group of cars, good job as we would have missed some breath taking views (deserts and canyons) not on the standard maps.

Room Tip: Blocks 7 & 8, is a little further from the main activities, a very short walk but benefits from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwelfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    2,225
    1,089
    325
    166
See reviews for
1,288
2,587
101
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We wanted to stay in the valley on our trip so we decided on this place which seemed to be the best all around place to stay. We chose a double queen room in the single story units as I don't do stairs and they couldn't guarantee a bottom floor in the two story unit. Naturally this cost about $40 more a night to do this.

The room was nice and clean though not perfect, it was still better than the average motel. The beds were very comfortable for us anyway and everything worked OK which we find is not always the case when we travel.

There was a small patio with 2 chairs and a small table overlooking a large grassy area with the pool on the other side. The pool was large and filled with spring water but was a disappointment since it was too deep for non swimmers who had to congregate at the very short shallow end with all the noisy, rowdy kids. Parking was in front of the room and an ice machine was a short walk away.

All in all the only real problem for us was the price of everything at the "ranch". You cannot cook in the rooms as there is no microwave oven so guess what, off to the way overpriced restaurants you go just what they wanted you to do. We tried the 3 cheapest of the 4 food venues at the "ranch" and were disappointed with the quality and price of each one. Check the restaurant ratings for comments about each (not good).

It's a shame that such a wonderful natural place like this is exploited by our national park service just to make extra money but that is typical of our government today. I was here in 1982 and it was a lot different than it is today, the valley was the same of course but the facilities did not intrude on the experience as it does today. Change is not always better!

Room Tip: Bring as much of your own food as you can to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch resort is a hotel in the middle of death valley. Once you do get out of the car it seems like you are looking straight in a hairdryer. The pool is lovely and the restaurant is cozy and has great food. Near the hotel is an information office with all the information you need. If you walk to the information office (through the palm forest) it can be that yousee coyotes who live there is. Always keep children closely, you never now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's basically a run-down motel that can charge $200 because it's the only one in the middle of Death Valley NP. But there are other options, I later found out, if you're willing to drive about another 15 minutes.
How do I start? For early April, it was still pretty hot at night. The problem was the air conditioning unit, which dates to the 1980s, I bet, was so loud that we had to turn it off. But the ceiling fan itself didn't work properly, and we couldn't even just let the breeze in because there were no screen doors or windows (!). So the choice was noise or bugs. We had to opt for the noise, but we lost a lot of sleep.
The room seemed clean at first, but it was fraying at the edges--the corners and paint of the bathroom were particularly icky.

Room Tip: Make sure you test the A/C unit and the ceiling fan before settling into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Death Valley & The Furnace Creek Inn are definitely "Away From It All". That's why you go there. A peaceful, beautiful oasis out in Death Valley. From an era long ago. . . take a day or two and unwind. A serene setting, pleasant rooms, helpful staff, and a special place with great views, silence, and character. Dinner or breakfast in the Dining Room is a wonderful way to end or start your day. The Inn is a great location to see all the Death Valley sights. Make the trip to Scotty's Castle and return to the 1920's; stand at Badwater and revel in the "Below Sea Level" bragging rights. And remember, everything at the Inn is "imported" from somewhere else. If you worry about prices, then simply stated, you don't belong here. It's a great stay and the reason you travel to Death Valley to get "Away From It All".

Room Tip: Ask for room 107 on the lower level; enjoy the view on the walk around veranda outside your door. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was like ok: basically a standard motel room, and did the job. You're paying for the location, and it was definitely worth it to be close by for a moonlight walk in Golden Canyon and less driving to get to many of the parts of Death Valley we wanted to see. Just don't expect a real resort, despite the surprise of "resort fees" when we checked out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank js_from_San_Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent just one night at the ranch on our California road trip.....not long enough. The place is so full of history and atmosphere, the food is excellent, the bar is well stocked and the staff are so friendly.

The scenery around the ranch is awesome, I kept expecting a stagecoach and cowboys to appear as the place has a real wild west theme!

Rooms are comfortable, if a bit dated, but the balcony with rocking chairs is such a nice touch. We definitely recommend Furnace Creek ranch for an overnight stay, one night is just not enough though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul11553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Otel so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing