We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Death Valley's old California Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oasis at Death Valley (formerly Furnace Creek Resort)
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to Death Valley and definitely Feb is a great time to visit. Loved the Inn! I had stayed at the ranch many years ago, but this time we stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. The Inn is the epitome of the 1930's hospitality. Room was nicely appointed, wonderful bathroom space and walk-in closet. The staff were all very welcoming and made us feel like treasured guests. Rates are not inexpensive, but the vibe was one of relaxed elegance, as if you were visiting a private home vs a park facility. At night, you can sit on the balcony with an after dinner drink and watch the sky crammed full of stars--magical!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiesnk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,465 - 2,471 of 5,561 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is about the Inn. It's a love letter to Death Valley and a warning to wayfarers. We have been coming to Death Valley over the past 46 years before our wedding. We've stayed in tents, the Ranch, and countless times the Furnace Creek Inn. It has always been on the high end of affordability--rooms are now pushing $500 with taxes--but we stretch ourselves annually because we love Death Valley with its eternal hiking and the Inn has an unmatched pool, huge and hot-springs fed and kept at a constant 84 degrees. Of course the property is old, but adequately maintained; if it's luxe, it is certainly not luxury at the contemporary standard. But the rooms are spaceous, moderately quiet, and have good beds. If it weren't for the kitchen/dining room experience, the Inn would be worth its cost.

The dining at the Inn changes over the years--apparently with regeimes of chefs. It's always been expensive, but the physical room is pleasant and the service is typically very attentive. They had a pretty good chef for the last two years--Chef Mike. She oversaw meals that had a flair, even though I felt she tended to be too partial to salt and fats/oils. Chef Mike is gone this season and in her place is a named Chef who should be nameless: This was the worst food in recent memory at Funace Creek Inn. We had dinner there three nights in a row, and basically, nothing was particularly good (FrenchToast in the morning and Flat Bread Pizza at noon made the grade). Indulge my rant a tad more, while I give you the low down: the menu itself is uninspiring; but the worst is that the food is served as if the kitchen staff doesn't care and/or is untrained. I was shocked that vegetables and rice sides were almost room temperature by the time they were served (one night the rice was lumpy as well, see unappetizing picture, attached). I could go on with my complaints, but let me make my point with a shocker: order a glass of wine each, and dinner for two--not much better than a good coffee shop--will cost you over $125. And this happens to be the first year they have eliminated the traditional date bread from the dinner bread plate. Quelle dommage!

To close on the positive side: Go take a hike. Glorious! Today we did the loop from Golden Canyon up towards Zabrinski Point, and out Gower Gulch. It took exactly 3 hours and was strenuous at a low intensity. Out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tmbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

or is it "coolest" spot? We visit this hotel with groups of 20 people for 10 years now, living up the warm(!) hospitality of the Furnace Creek Ranch. First of all the booking is easy: Sharon Sheppard, the manager of the place is so nice and helpful. We just love this lady. Then: The place is so clean and the restaurants on the hotel area are all real good.
Our guests have always been happy with this choice. And don´t forget the pool. You´ll need it when you arrive on your harley ( obviously without a.c. ): It´s large and clean - they will probably never need a pool heating system... . We´ll be back. Good job Sharon!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galveston1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a good place to stay considering where it is. The main issue with this place was the air con. It's the one place you need it when in furnace creek (the name says it all!). It was SO noisy...and I'm not just talking a gentle whir. It would 'rev up' and then wind down and I can only compare it to sounding like the engine when you're on an aeroplane and it's starting up for take off. There was no option to turn it off as we would have just melted. But having to stuff rolled up toilet paper in my eyes and sleep with a pillow held over my head (by myself, not my husband!) was not ideal. Especially as we had just spent 8 hours driving through Yosemite to Death Valley, and had the trip to Vegas the next day. We left feeling exhausted. The bathroom was a bit dingy and the whole room could do with a refresh and smartening up.

Saying that, the pool was big and the shop onsite was well stocked and staff were friendly. We ate in the bar eatery and not the steakhouse restaurant. The food was okay - not great for the price and portions were on the small side, which is most unlike America and some of the other places we stayed at during our honeymoon.

This place is okay and because of where it is it doesn't really need to do much, it's not like there are hotels everywhere in the middle of Death Valley and I think it really cashes in on this fact so cuts corners when it shouldn't.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a Furnace Creek Ranch 2 bed cabin, which is really 1/2 of a small building. The room had a good amount of space. The bathroom was well furnished. The cabins are very quiet. You have parking next to your cabin except for the one we had, which had a sidewalk and the ice machine where our parking would have been. The cabins are located just across the parking lot from the general store, saloon, and restaurant. We were there in February so we were not using the pool - but the pool would be a little walk. The gold course is very close. We did spend our last night, which we added, in a 1 queen bed cabin. It was fine also, but the bathroom was pretty small and there was no closet. This is a great area in Death Valley - all services including gasoline are available there. The 49er Cafe is definitely the place to eat - very good food at reasonable prices for Death Valley. Centrally located to points of interest in the Valley.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

There are very few choices of accommodation in Death Valley but this is a reasonable one ...
the Ranch cabins are least expensive but my unit was badly in need of serious renovation. The floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked, curled and dirty ... carpeting in the bedroom was soiled and old. That said, it offered a comfortable bed and free internet in a resort complex that includes several dining locations with good food and an accommodating saloon. The Inn is a separate high end property ... beautifully furnished, exceptional dining room and gardens with expansive desert views ... simply stunning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegasguy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The facilities are good - the rooms are large and well furnished and the staff helpful. There is a lively pub with music and good bar food. The pool is open until 11.00 (mountain time) and is a good way to unwind after a long drive! Don't forget to check your watches as the time changes to "mountain time" which means you can lose/gain an hour - very confusing!!
The store sells a good range of food - necessary as breakfast is not included - and some lovely original gifts. There is also a small outdoor museum of farming machinery which is worth a look.
Don't forget to take drinks for the next part of the journey and everywhere is so far apart .....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorryleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
332 reviews
27.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
700 reviews
0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,851 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis at Death Valley (formerly Furnace Creek Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis at Death Valley (formerly Furnace Creek Resort)

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $282 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oasis at Death Valley (formerly Furnace Creek Resort) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis at Death, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Death Valley and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Death Valley. The Inn at Death Valley offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Death Valley has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oasis at Death Valley (formerly Furnace Creek Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing