We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good place considering” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place considering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a good place to stay considering where it is. The main issue with this place was the air con. It's the one place you need it when in furnace creek (the name says it all!). It was SO noisy...and I'm not just talking a gentle whir. It would 'rev up' and then wind down and I can only compare it to sounding like the engine when you're on an aeroplane and it's starting up for take off. There was no option to turn it off as we would have just melted. But having to stuff rolled up toilet paper in my eyes and sleep with a pillow held over my head (by myself, not my husband!) was not ideal. Especially as we had just spent 8 hours driving through Yosemite to Death Valley, and had the trip to Vegas the next day. We left feeling exhausted. The bathroom was a bit dingy and the whole room could do with a refresh and smartening up.

Saying that, the pool was big and the shop onsite was well stocked and staff were friendly. We ate in the bar eatery and not the steakhouse restaurant. The food was okay - not great for the price and portions were on the small side, which is most unlike America and some of the other places we stayed at during our honeymoon.

This place is okay and because of where it is it doesn't really need to do much, it's not like there are hotels everywhere in the middle of Death Valley and I think it really cashes in on this fact so cuts corners when it shouldn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    2,225
    1,089
    324
    166
See reviews for
1,287
2,587
101
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a Furnace Creek Ranch 2 bed cabin, which is really 1/2 of a small building. The room had a good amount of space. The bathroom was well furnished. The cabins are very quiet. You have parking next to your cabin except for the one we had, which had a sidewalk and the ice machine where our parking would have been. The cabins are located just across the parking lot from the general store, saloon, and restaurant. We were there in February so we were not using the pool - but the pool would be a little walk. The gold course is very close. We did spend our last night, which we added, in a 1 queen bed cabin. It was fine also, but the bathroom was pretty small and there was no closet. This is a great area in Death Valley - all services including gasoline are available there. The 49er Cafe is definitely the place to eat - very good food at reasonable prices for Death Valley. Centrally located to points of interest in the Valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

There are very few choices of accommodation in Death Valley but this is a reasonable one ...
the Ranch cabins are least expensive but my unit was badly in need of serious renovation. The floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked, curled and dirty ... carpeting in the bedroom was soiled and old. That said, it offered a comfortable bed and free internet in a resort complex that includes several dining locations with good food and an accommodating saloon. The Inn is a separate high end property ... beautifully furnished, exceptional dining room and gardens with expansive desert views ... simply stunning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegasguy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The facilities are good - the rooms are large and well furnished and the staff helpful. There is a lively pub with music and good bar food. The pool is open until 11.00 (mountain time) and is a good way to unwind after a long drive! Don't forget to check your watches as the time changes to "mountain time" which means you can lose/gain an hour - very confusing!!
The store sells a good range of food - necessary as breakfast is not included - and some lovely original gifts. There is also a small outdoor museum of farming machinery which is worth a look.
Don't forget to take drinks for the next part of the journey and everywhere is so far apart .....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorryleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This facility fulfilled all my expectations and then some. It is well located, nicely maintained, and attractive. Above and beyond all that is the attitude of each and every employee I dealt with. From the cleaning staff to the dining staff to the front desk, they all made every effort to please and accommodate. I was pleased. Honorable mention to Dawn at the front office for volunteering to help with the printing of the boarding passes for the next day without our asking. All this bodes well for the top management that sets the tone. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My fiancé and his parents stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. Upon arrival, we were created by a gentleman who promptly assisted us with parking, retrieved our luggage, and delivered it to our room. I wish I remembered his name. The Inn is clean and has a wonderful view. When I made reservations, I was hoping to reserve the Luxury View-King Spa, but there wasn't any availabilities. The only one was Standard View-King. To my fiancé's and my delight, we were placed in room 109 which is right by the main terrace/deck area with a spectacular view. At night the sky looks like a planetarium, quite amazing. The rooms are clean and the bedding was comfortable. His parents also received a 30% discount since the are senior citizens. The only issue we had was our dining experience. We went to dinner there our first night, Feb. 6th, and our server was Gary. My fiancé ordered the Porterhouse (medium rare), I ordered the Chicken cordon blue, his mom ordered the Caesar Salad with Salmon, and his Dad the rack of lamb. Although my dinner and my fiancé's dinner was fine, his Porterhouse was not the right temperature and was cooked to a medium to medium well temperature. And his Dad was not served his entree at the same time as ours was because they either put the wrong order in or cooked the wrong entree. He as given a complimentary bowl of soup while he waited though. He also said that the rack of lamb was good. A few minor issues with there. But then comes the bill. He was overcharged for his rack of lamb. When we politely brought this up to his attention, he said he would take care of it. He came back to our table and addressed him and said that $3.xx will be credited to his account. That was in poor taste. It didn't matter how much would be credited, its the fact that he said so in a smug tone as if $3.xx wasn't a big deal. Well, then as we were walking out of the restaurant, we decided to look at the menu to see how much the rack of lamb really was. It was $29.00 and he originally was charged $40!!! So, even though we corrected his mistake the first time, he still didn't get it right and we still were overcharged. And there's that bit of his smugness. During dinner, he was kind and gracious, but his last impression was the one that we remember.

Room Tip: ROOM 109 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Furnace Creek Inn and Furnace Creek Ranch are two very different properties. The Inn is upscale and the Ranch is more normal tourist location.

The Inn was built in 1927 and is in excellent shape and very historic. It has some difficulties that are normal for an old hotels but for those of us who love historic inns, it's great.

We had a Deluxe View King and it was great. It was roomy, had a balcony overlooking an oasis and was on the second floor.

Service was as good as any national park property I've visited. In fact, I felt that the employees want this hotel to be even better. The food in the restaurant is only okay at dinner. Chef Mike, a woman, left some time ago and the restaurant has not moved back up to the standards she was reputed to have.

Breakfast was very good and a real joy. We didn't eat lunch at the Inn so I have no comment on that. Food at the Ranch was not as good as the Inn. All food was expensive and gas was $5.50/gallon. It is Death Valley and supplying anything is expensive so don't complain about cost. We saw gas as high as $6.25 in Panamount Springs.

Death Valley is beautiful and we stayed 4 nights. It was barely long enough to see the valley. I'd have enjoyed another day or two.

If you like Historic Inns, you won't be disappointed by Furnace Creek Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Otel so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing