We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranch at Death Valley
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel(Death Valley National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
View Hotel
Panamint Springs Resort(Death Valley National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,988)
Filter reviews
5,988 results
Traveler rating
1,229
2,621
1,384
494
260
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
2,621
1,384
494
260
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedeath valleyborax museumgeneral storefurnace creekon sitepost officeswimming pooltennis courtsspring fedrocking chairsnational parkair concorkscrew saloonwrangler steakhousepizzapalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,876 - 2,881 of 5,988 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looking foreward on staying in this hotel we checked in.
After bringing all the luggage to the room, there was a knock on the door. The girl from the reception who just had us checked in, asked if we could move again to another room.
There was something wrong with the ear conditioning? she said, though it was working perfectly. As we had been travelling for more than 14 hours coming up to death valley - great trip coming up - we were very tired and wanted to go for a swim.
We moved to the next building under protest. She would discuss this with the manager and get back to us to make it up to us....... Yet she did not. Checking out the next morning I confronted the lady at the check out. First she said that we had not been moved, then the manager was not on duty, so we didn't feel taken serious. This is a great way to give you guests the idea that their opinion does not matters.

Room Tip: There is another hotel nearby, go for it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at The Ranch at Death Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments to TripAdvisor. We monitor these comments because we care about the comfort of our guests and genuinely want to please you.

I was disappointed to read about your experience at Furnace Creek Inn. Relocating you to a different room sounded like it was a complete hassle and similar to situations we desperately try to avoid with guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience and know that we are working on ways to prevent a similar situation from happening in the future.

Again, I apologize for the issue you experienced. If you would like to discuss your situation in greater detail, and assist me with looking for ways to correct your experience, please don't hesitate to contact Furnace Creek Inn and ask for me.

Rich Jones
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Furnace Creek Ranch for 2 nights and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. Firstly, the location is just spectacular, I could not recommend a trip to Death Valley highly enough - it is just beautiful and should be on anyone's bucket list!! The hotel has free wifi, the rooms are spacious and clean and the Air Con is fabulous!!! The Ranch has a number of restaurants and really caters for everyone's needs. The staff were really friendly and helpful. By virtue of the location and the limited options for accommodation we were not quite sure what to expect.we had no issues with our stay! Well done to FCR!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Furnace Creek Ranch for two nights on our way from Yosemite to Las Vegas. We were more than happy with our room which had queen size bed and very efficient and quiet air conditioning. The bathroom however, whilst nothing specific was wrong with it, it was rather aged in comparison to the rest of our room. Our room also had a mini fridge which was greatly appreciated and not seen in many other hotels during our 4 week stay in the USA.

We dined at the Corkscrew Saloon both nights, and contrary to other reviews, believed the price of the meals was reasonable given the remoteness of the Ranch, and the food portions more than sufficient.

Death Valley was a stunning place and we would definately visit and stay at Furnace Creek Ranch again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny_traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved our stay at furnace creek. The rooms are comfy and fit well with the ranch theme and the little rocking chairs on the balcony were a lovely addition, even though it was too hot to use them most of the time. The pool was fantastic, one of the nicest pools we've ever been in. The bars and shop are good, we loved the corkscrew saloon and thought it had a lovely atmosphere and the beer and food there were excellent. The wrangler food was nice but dinner was very expensive due the fact you cant go anywhere else in the desert. The time of year we stayed temperatures were still 45-50 degrees Celsius, so we found that even walking from our room to the bar we got very hot and we needed to pace ourselves alot. However it was a great experience, death valley is a beautiful place and we would consider coming again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

death valley is amazing my partner found it too hot a bit overbearing.I was ok with the heat.The room was fine and there were roadrunners everywhere .Thought it was just a cartoon character lol .Nice bars shops and restaurants in a western theme setting enjoyed the stay 1 night travelling to vegas

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonywest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews