We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
114
81
27
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
81
27
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road interesting drive death valley zabriskie point the main road sharp turns regular car picture taking short loop drive thru interesting formations small sign rock formations furnace creek artists drive star wars borax
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This 2.8 miles circuit is amazing, narrow ( medium size vehicles no campers) you feel in a very peaceful, earth colorfully place, the colors are similar to the ones on Zabriskie point but you are driving inside the path. I really loved it.

Thank veronicae772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was one of the surprise locations we passed through during our visit. The formations and rocks were stunning. Just awesome. Sadly, there are no pull overs for photos that we could find. This may be a result of the recent rains. We were a little disapponted as we were itching to take pictures!

Thank Don3rdSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an easy drive on a dirt road through a canyon near Zabriskie Point. It curves through a couple of miles of hills and arroyos twisted and uplifted by geological forces. Well worth the side trip. Can be driven in a regular car.

Thank Cary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Low priority place to visit but a nice drive if u have time. One way road passable with a regular car, slow drive to enjoy.

Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

My kids actually pointed this trail out to me. We drove down it and it was nice. Easy drive. 4x4 not required.

Thank lawnman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

This is a 1 way drive through some amazingly unique land formations. (A favorite spot for photographers.) Many people often rent Jeeps to travel through here--it is not necessary, but with many of the roads in Death Valley, RV's are usually not able to make it around some of the corners or narrow pathways.

Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

This was our first brave move off the main highway after entering Death Valley national Park. There is just a small sign before a small dirt and gravel road, and we decided to explore it. The road is very winding and has steep ups and downs in several points, but it is easy to navigate in a regular car, but not enough maneuvering room on some of the tight curves for long vehicles such as campers. After seeing rather typical desert views next to the main road, this was a real surprise, and a very pleasant introduction for us into the real wonders of Death Valley. There were beautiful mountains and rock formations of multiple hues all along the loop -- almost too much to comprehend. I think we could go back there multiple times and see numerous brand new views that we never noticed previously, and I would love to return to do that some day when we are in the Death Valley area again.

Thank kotw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Need something to do that doesn't require energy or overheating in Death Valley. Do this drive. It is not too long on a dirt road. Most cars can do it. The colors on the rocks are beautiful and you can see where they mined the dirt for the borax mine.

Thank SlowPoke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We saw a funny sign showing potential calamities on our way out of Death Valley, and decided to stop and take a picture. Little did we know this was the beginning of 20 Mule Team Canyon. It is a one way car only track. There are great elevation changes, tight turns, and adventure! This turned out to be the biggest surprise of our trip to Death Valley -- Highly Recommended

Thank Swegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Provides a nice view inside a canyon especially if you don't want to do a hike. Doesn't take too long to go through.

WARNING: I would not attmept this in anything too big or long. E.G., I saw some campers starting the drive. Not sure what happened to them.

Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews