We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalistic, but a good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panamint Springs Resort
Reviewed December 28, 2013

People that are complaining about this place obviously haven't done their research. Although I probably wouldn't refer to Panamint Springs Resort as a "resort," it is a fairly-priced place to stay with a restaurant, bar, gas station, and general store.

My friend and I stayed here for two days last February while exploring Death Valley. There were two heaters in our room, which kept the room a comfortable temperature during the chilly Death Valley winter nights. We were told ahead of time that there is no cell phone reception and no TVs in the room, so we came prepared with a few movies to watch on our laptops for when we were back in our room. There is wireless internet, but it is very slow during the day, to the point of not working at all. We were warned about it ahead of time, and weren't expecting or relying on it, so it was fine (although one morning before taking off early to see sunrise at the Mesquite Sand Dunes, we did have luck connecting to wireless).

Overall, Panamint Springs Resort is a good place to stay, and definitely was the best value. Unless you're camping in an RV or a tent, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better price. Very minimalistic, but it's not like we came to Death Valley to be pampered in some luxury hotel-- we came to explore the beautiful California and Nevada desert.

People complaining about the prices here (or anywhere in Death Valley, really) aren't considering where they are. Death Valley is VERY sparse and extreme, and it isn't easy to get things out there without driving a long way or without flying shipments of food and other items in. The prices are going to reflect that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kristalaululind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 694 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Most of the reviews here are for the motel, and as you've seen whether you're a fan depends more on what you're bringing attitude-wise than what you find here. Lots of us that spend tons of time in the desert love the place. The owners are nice folks who've been gradually improving the place after some substantial neglect. And it's a tough place to be: take a look where their water comes from, e.g. And complaining about gas and food price? hello, why'd you go to Death Valley??

But I wanna concentrate on the campground. Since taking over they've planted a bunch of trees, so now there's some shade. Sites are ridiculously cheap, and they've added a tent cabin or two, a very nice touch when the wind blows and it's cold. The bathrooms are a bit small, but the showers work fine, and there aren't many places in the whole park where you get those. Sites range from very small for tents to bus-sized. Wifi often goes out, and no cell reception.

On many mornings you get your own air show as jets train above you. There are some great hikes right nearby (Darwin Falls a must). The Panamint Valley is the more undeveloped, and many of us feel more interesting, side of DV. Well worth spending days exploring. In the campground you're likely to meet lots of people who frequent these areas often, off roaders, dual sport bikers, etc., and it's a good place to get some info on conditions. For instance, tons of the roads nearby have been thrashed by rain. Yeah, rain.

Other sites to visit nearby are Darwin, Ballarat, the Manson Cabin, and Panamint Dunes (it's a longer hike than it looks from the dirt road). The hill you see near there is an interesting story, and the site of some very very old human inhabitants. Ask about the formations in the desert you can only see from the air. And check out the odd paths behind the campground and areas around. There are old stage stops, road crew dumps, and the sort of stuff that makes the desert interesting.

Room Tip: Try the tent cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Walked into the room and wanted to walk straight back out and go stay somewhere better.

There was a bed, no headboard. It smelt dirty, like the sheets weren't fresh or the bedding was really old and grimy. We both felt dirty from the bed so took a shower in the very old and basic shower (at least the water pressure was ok). There were notices in the bathroom not to stain the white towels or we'd be charged. Some coloured towels were provided to dry if you'd been using suncream (weird, just get better detergent or bleach them).

The price was extortionate for the room. Outside the park for similar money stay at Tecopa Hot Springs. For less money stay in Beatty (and better hotel). For more money stay in the park - I wish we'd spent the extra - not much extra to spend another night in the park at the Furnace Creek. Don't bother with Stovepipe Wells, that cockroach infested place with the most unpleasant manager ever is even more of a rip off.

The only plus about staying here was the restaurant beer selection and the views of the stars.

Room Tip: Stay in Furnace Creek or Beatty or Tecopa Hot Springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hey maybe having the title " resort " would mislead you but as others have mentioned this place is as if situated on the moon in a national park. The accommodations are BASIC, the staff super friendly and helpful, the beer selection could be the best on the planet and the mornin coffee is a solid ten. Sure you have to go to the restaurant to get it instead of some phoney crappy coffee maker in your room. Plenty of hot water and my cell phone wouldn't connect to the " waxed string and two tin cans' WIFI. BOO-hoo a day when the office didn't bug me. View from the rooms they stole from Walt Disney. If you show up in the right frame of mind you will leave a very happy camper. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msohorselogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good localization to go see the Valley. 30 min of the mesquite flat dunes.
It is like they say on the website, they don't have television, microwave on the rooms. no Pool or gym.
The room was nice and clean. Also they have a Bar and a small store/gasoline station.
Please remenber that you are in the middle of the desert, in a very remote area so don`t expect a 5star hotel but is good. I really enjoy staing there and I recommend it.

When you wake in the morning and open the door you can really feel the desert.

Also if you forget your phone there as I did they will send it back to you....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chureta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent three nights. Least expensive of the area resorts. No frills rooms but adequate and clean. Staff was eclectic and entertaining. Limited menu but good food. Decent breakfast buffet. Beautiful redwood bar. Huge selection of beers and microbrews. Highest priced gasoline in the area by far. Least centrally located of the death valley resorts but not a bad drive to Stovepipe Wells and Furnace Creek. No cell service or internet or TV.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While we were travelling to panamint springs (death valley) we ran into some car trouble.

Important to note is that our AT&T plan we bought was not getting any reception in the valley.

The Towing company and our insurance gave us a lift back to El Portal. When we contacted the hotel (7pm) we were told that we'd still have to pay the entire room fee.

I can understand this decision I'm just somewhat disappointed that they didn't offer us any other solutions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank eldorado89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Owner at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

I find it shocking that this person has posted a 1 star review for their cancellation experience and expected us not to charge them for their cancellation. They called us at 8pm (not 7pm), THE NIGHT of their reservation to inform us they were not coming. Their reservation was for our room with 1 king bed, which is our most sought after room. We had held the room for them all day and evening, turning away other people who were interested in the room. By the time they cancelled we did not have any more opportunities to rent the room because it was so late. Of course we would charge the full rate of the room for their cancellation, especially since we have a 48 hour cancellation policy, which they were well inside.
I'm really not sure what type of solution he was looking for, but we do not put our small family business at risk and lose revenue because someone had car trouble and their towing company took them to another town. I wish this customer could accept responsibility for events that happen in his life and not expect others to give him special treatment and exemption from policies that everyone else has to follow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
16.9 mi away
The Inn at Death Valley
The Inn at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,559 reviews
34.4 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,840 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Highway 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $28 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panamint Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Panamint Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing