We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change in plans - not able to assist us in any way”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Change in plans - not able to assist us in any way”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While we were travelling to panamint springs (death valley) we ran into some car trouble.

Important to note is that our AT&T plan we bought was not getting any reception in the valley.

The Towing company and our insurance gave us a lift back to El Portal. When we contacted the hotel (7pm) we were told that we'd still have to pay the entire room fee.

I can understand this decision I'm just somewhat disappointed that they didn't offer us any other solutions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eldorado89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Owner at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I find it shocking that this person has posted a 1 star review for their cancellation experience and expected us not to charge them for their cancellation. They called us at 8pm (not 7pm), THE NIGHT of their reservation to inform us they were not coming. Their reservation was for our room with 1 king bed, which is our most sought after room. We had held the room for them all day and evening, turning away other people who were interested in the room. By the time they cancelled we did not have any more opportunities to rent the room because it was so late. Of course we would charge the full rate of the room for their cancellation, especially since we have a 48 hour cancellation policy, which they were well inside.
I'm really not sure what type of solution he was looking for, but we do not put our small family business at risk and lose revenue because someone had car trouble and their towing company took them to another town. I wish this customer could accept responsibility for events that happen in his life and not expect others to give him special treatment and exemption from policies that everyone else has to follow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    180
    159
    93
    135
See reviews for
137
304
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we arrived short before sunset and were happy that there was a free room in this nice place. there is actually nothing else in paramint springs than a fuel station (where you can make up your accommodation) and the resort. rooms are nice, spacious with private bathroom. everything was clean. we loved the burgers and fries for dinner, they were the best on our trip to california!!!!! and there´s a choice of 11 beers an we even got some samples. try the Pils! would love to come back soon!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asialeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night - drove from Los Angeles, arriving at dusk. Good information at check in about park. Rooms are fairly basic, but quiet and spacious. Obviously not renovated for some time, but they are definitely clean. Restaurant is fine - dinner was accompanied by flying bats on the balcony, and breakfast buffet is ok. A perfectly reasonable place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a table outside to watch the sunset/moon set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There seem to be two types of people. Those that have a wide tolerance for rustic lodging - like I do, and those who don't - like my wife. I just spent a long weekend at the Panamint Springs Resort with a group of friends. You choose this hotel for the location and not the lodging amenities. Fortunately, TripAdvisor reviews helped set my expectations for the stay. The hotel was exactly what we needed. The rooms were adequate, the beds comfortable and the sheets and towels clean. Plentiful warm water and the air conditioning worked fine, although wasn't taxed on an 85 degree day. Our bathroom was, as some have noted, deteriorating. The hotel would really benefit a lot by an investment in upgrading and fixing the bathrooms. At least one other in our group had a bathroom that looked like it had more recently been updated.

We used the restaurant. Breakfast was a $10 basic buffet - eggs, bacon, juice. And dinner had an assortment of burgers, salads, soups and a wide selection of cold beer. Not gourmet dining, but plenty good for after a day in the desert. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

If you don't mind rustic, this hotel is fine. They would be wise to upgrade the bathrooms. The location is spectacular. As others have noted, things like gasoline and ice are astronomically priced. No big deal if you plan accordingly. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinon Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were only there for a few hours, short road trip from camping in lone pine. Panamint springs resort is an okay place. It is what it is because of where it is. All you high and mighty urban city dwellers need to get a clue, if your looking for a 5 star resort then just stay home. I recommend to check it out even if it's just a short road trip. It's not very far inside death valley from the lone pine area, about an hour and the scenery is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unable to stay here due to Tioga Pass Road being closed. I understand their cancellation policy, however, profiteering due to fires is not understandable. We advised them by phone immediately we could, however it was too late. $176.96 is not a small amount of money to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nixchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are absolutely not "profiteering due to fires". We have a very fair cancellation policy, especially considering that we are located in a national park. We require 48 hours notice of any cancellation, regardless of the reason and whether particular people feel that they deserve special treatment. This particular reason for cancellation was not very compelling since the there are many other routes to Panamint Springs besides Tioga Pass. Just because this person's itinerary was disrupted due to a wildfire does not mean that we should lose revenue for a reservation we had been holding in good faith while turning others away.

The bottom line is that our cancellation policy is in place to prevent loss of revenue, not for making extra profit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Okay, this is a special place. If you like luxury and large rooms, stay away. But if you prefer to stay in Death Valley NP, and you don't mind missing some of the 'standard' hotel comfort (and also not paying for it), this is still a great place to stay. Small rooms, a reasonable restaurant with a breakfast buffet that does not include hot items. But the location makes it worth while to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
16.9 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
25.7 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Property: Panamint Springs Resort
Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing