We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dual purpose motorcycle group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Dateland, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dual purpose motorcycle group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The stay was great, clean rest rooms, showers and toilets. The grounds are kept clean and the staff from the gas station-store to the restaurant are great! The food was good and they have a very nice selection of beer. We had a bike that broke the frame and Aaron dropped of a welder and grinder and saved our week. We will be back with a larger group next time. Do not miss out on the what they have to offer.

Ronnydog

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    160
    144
    79
    121
See reviews for
118
260
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
747 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The walls are so thin that you can nearly hear the people next door breathe. The room was old but clean enough. Yes it is somewhat dusty but this is due to the general environment. The place is linked to the gas station (where you check-in) and a restaurant. The restaurant is actually reasonably good considering where it is. Nothing fancy.
The shower was small and old. This is the first place on my trip that I finally had a use for my hair dryer! Very basic services.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Maybe my expecttations were lower than others, but as a world trekker I found Panamint Springs Resort enchanting! We were five guys in our fifties on a weeklong motorcycle trip and found it to be a delightful place! After a delicious dinner and some great beers, we watched the moonrise of the valley which was magical! The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Of course gas was very expensive, but what did you expect? I found the restaurant & hotel very reasonably priced in comparsion to other places in DV & was pleased it wasn't a cookie cutter place with insincere employees. Panamint Springs is tops! My only suggestion is to have a coffee station for early risers like myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in July on our way from LA to LV passing through DV. Having read the reports on this site, we knew what to expect, but were still pleasantly surprised by the remoteness and authentic rustic feel of the place. We arrived shortly before sunset, and after picking up our keys at the gas station, made our way to the one of the 3-bed rooms that were at the center of the row of cabins. We enjoyed the hamburgers for dinner, which were indeed very good. As it was a clear evening, we enjoyed the milky way and went to bed around 9. We were up before sunrise, to watch the sun rise over the valley and enjoy breakfast before heading out to the park

So, the walls are indeed thin, and there is some noise from cars & people arriving/leaving. It did not bother us; the location and general atmosphere more than made up for it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foomsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

When you want to stay in Death Valley, this place is the best.I have slept in the other 2 places there, but Panamint Springs is the best experience you can have in DV. Sre it's not a brand new luxury resort, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is more then friendly, and the overall atmosphere is so great, you have to be there to understand it.We will defintily wil be back there, and can recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived very late at the resort (plan more time to get there as it is a windy road) and had to catch the room keys at the gas station shop. but nobody informed us about the whereabout of the keys. thanks to the last person in the restaurant, who told us.
we had the last room (15) on the left side. the vent flap was making noise the whole night, which was very annoying and i could not sleep until i put my earplugs in.

The room did not have a fridge, just two beds and a bathroom, a fan, so very simple equipped.
The room and the bathroom were totally clean.

Watching the stars in the sky from there: Priceless!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is in the middle of the desert without a phone line or anything else. all you get is a room with a bathroom, 1 restaurant (with very nice food and very different beers) and 1 gas station. this hotel is just thought for over night stays during you travel through death valley. you don't get tv or anything else in this hotel (just a slow wifi over satellite).

it is in the middle of nowhere.

+ clean rooms
+ fresh water
+ AC in the rooms
+ good food at the restaurant
+ very much beers at the restaurant
+ good price


- restaurant stops serving food at 9 pm or something
- breakfast is to expensive and you get almost nothing (Don't recommend that!!)
- can't power off the AC (of course, because it would take too long to cool down the room again)
- drinking water was expensive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
34.5 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,732 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
58.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Property: Panamint Springs Resort
Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing