We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cool”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and cool”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is just right for a quick overnight stop on your way through death valley. Ok so the rooms are old and there is no tv but it is clean and they have air con. The staff are amazing at the gas station and the pub (all part of the "resort")The guys at the gas station gave my husband and I tons of information on death valley, they drew us maps, travel times and all with a smile. I can honestly say they were so very helpful. This place is catered to the hungry and the tired, great food and a place to take a shower while you travel through or explore this incredible wilderness. This is not a place to sit by a pool. The wifi is slow but that's to be expected we are in a desert. The rooms could use an upgrade but in all honesty this place did the job well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    179
    158
    92
    135
See reviews for
135
302
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Panamint Springs "Resort" is truly a rustic, Western-style motel as you find it described on their homepage. We (family: 50, 49, 15, 8 years of age) had a cabin room furnished with two King Size beds, a high-board, a table and a chair , all of them well-used but serving the purpose, which was for us to sleep after a day in the heat of the desert. We did not want to watch TV nor use our computers (which you could as there is wireless lan). The room was not equipped with a refrigerator but you could buy ice at the nearby store. We enjoyed our dinner sitting on the porch under the star - spangled banner (as well as true stars) . We had a pizza "hawaii" which was homemade and covered with fresh pineapple. A real treat! The breakfast buffet was also okay. Due to wrong expectations people might complain about the lack of cleanliness of tables and chairs. Well, yes, it could be better but we compare it to the mountain hostels/huts in the Austrian Alps. It is rustic and has a character of its own. Special care had been given to the perfect bathrooms, though. We were surprised to find that much luxury in the wilderness. Everything was brand-new: sink, mirror, toilet, huge shower, closet, marvellous white towels. In addition we found samples of soap, shampoo. The only "bad" thing in our room was the air-conditioning which was running all night . It came out of the ceiling ( a big hole, the end of a tunnel system) with undescribable power and as noisy as was the overnight atlantic flight. NEVERTHELESS.: tired as we were we slept well all night. We have been to many different hotels on our trip through California (for example, we stayed at the Hyatt Regency chain) but Panamint Springs was something special with its unique atmosphere and setting.
Panamint Springs is our son´s (15) favourite accomodation. He would rate it with five stars plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all... This hotel is nowhere near a "resort". Our room was a cabin, decorated in 1960's style. There was nothing on the walls, the bathroom was horrible, and there we flies in the room because the front door didn't shut all the way. As we were in the middle of the desert, it was dirty and dusty... everywhere. The "general store" is a trailer that has a small selection of overpriced items. And the gas is $2.00 more per gallon, as there is nowhere else to get it. The "restaurant" food was good. The restaurant is a room with 10 tables. The waitress seemed mad that she had to work. Overall, this was a HORRIBLE experience. I would rather go camping outdoors. If you are going to Death Valley, do yourself a favor and stay at the Furnace Creek Resort, located in Death Valley. It was beautiful and had a gorgeous view. Also had a pool, which would have been nice after spending the day in 120 degree heat. The higher price is WELL worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room at Furnance Creek Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would like to address a few of your comments:

Our establishment is called Panamint Springs Resort, because it was so named in 1937 when it was built. If you look up the word resort, it means "a place to which people frequently or generally go for relaxation or pleasure." We have a lot of regular customers who enjoy coming to Panamint Springs and actually prefer it to Furnace Creek, which is a little more impersonal and touristy.

Flies are a problem this time of year all over the park, not just Panamint Springs. Any establishment that has "motel" style rooms, (Furnace Creek & Stovepipe Wells included) in which the door to the room opens directly to the outdoors, will have such a problem. All of our doors close properly. The only reason for flies being in the room is that they slipped in when you or one of the housekeepers opened the door.

Our General Store is NOT a trailer, in fact it is a very large, open building. Our gas is similarly priced to Stovepipe Wells and Furnace Creek. Sometimes Furnace Creek is more expensive, and sometimes we are, it just depends on the delivery price. Our gas and merchandise is definitely more expensive that it would be in a large city. Your can't compare oranges and apples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Did an overnight stop here and found whilst things were basic, they were clean, the aircon worked fine, good shower and liked the make up remover tissues in the amenities. Staff very friendly, and we shared a wonderful tasty pizza with a view from the restaurant verandah out the front, looking over the valley area, very ambient as the sun sets. And, who could argue with 180 different types of beer .. it's a resort without a pool, but the beer is fantastic, especially if you are from Oz ... and the stars at night are as good as ours too. One of our memorable and favourite stops on our roadie around USA/Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed here before in the campsite in an RV, and then this year we came back to stay in the motel itself.

The room was basic, but fine. The AC is a little noisy, but does a surprisingly good job of keeping the room cool and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and there's an impressive beer selection too. Breakfast is nothing special, but it's a decent buffet. There is no TV, but there is WiFi...which struggles to keep up with more than 5 or 6 people trying to use it, so get up early if you want to surf without frustration - or just get up early and look at the stars or the sunrise in the fantastic clear sky over the mountains.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - and when I left my phone charger in my room they posted it to me (a 70 mile round trip to the post office for them) for only $15.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest review. I'm glad you received your cord. We hope to see you visiting again in the future.

The internet is a satellite connection, and can be slow during peak hours. After 11pm our bandwidth opens up, so the speed is much quicker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review takes into account the remote location and incredibly harsh conditions with which the Panamint Springs has to contend. The term 'resort' is a misnomer, but you will find a clean and quaintly charming motel in an ideal location for exploring Death Valley. The staff were particularly friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area. Dinner was actually pretty good considering where we were. Breakfast wasn't great and you don't get much for $10. There is no pool, which is a shame as a dip would have really hit the spot. In the hot months make sure you request one of the handful of rooms with AC when booking. The swamp cooling system will get the temperature from 120 to the 80s, but you'll need the extra AC to get into the more comfortable 70s. If you are a light sleeper my biggest piece of advice is to bring earplugs because both cooling systems are very loud and you might not get much sleep without them. The gas here is slightly more expensive than the Chevron at Furnace Creek and much more than outside the park. A few more tips: if you enter the park from the west, pull over and have a look at the Joshua tree 'forest' at elevations above 4000 feet, it's quite something. At night look up at the stars--Death Valley displays one of the most fantastic night skies I have ever seen. In conclusion, if you are fine with basic accommodation this is a good choice, and apart from the 5 star luxury resort at Furnace Creek (which is obviously way more expensive) the other options in Death valley don't look much better. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest review! We hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've been traveling to Death Valley for years, and I've had a couple good experiences at Panamint Springs. I camped there a couple years ago (winter) on my way down into the valley. Last week, I spent a night in the motel, so I got to know the facilities better. I had a really nice time!

The staff clearly take great pride in what they do. As they'll be glad to tell you in the general store, the restaurant's beer selection is fantastic (even by Northern Californian standards, living near some incredible liquor stores). The restaurant also had fair prices for cocktails, like their "signature" prickly pear margarita. Prices can often be very high within Death Valley, since goods need to be transported long distances before being served to customers, so the food and drink prices were lower than expected.

We and our dog stayed in a pet-friendly room. The carpet looked like it had been very recently replaced--everything was spotless. The duvet cover also looked brand-new. There were some brown washcloths (next to all the other towels and washcloths, which were white) and a note asking that for makeup removal, we use the brown washcloths rather than stain their other ones. Then, along with the toiletries, they provided little packets of makeup-removing towelettes! I was very impressed. The motel is old, and it's in a place where it's probably hard for them to receive services, and the staff is clearly putting a great deal of thought into their guests' experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you noticed some of the little touches. I hope you will return again in the future! All the best...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
16.9 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
25.7 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Property: Panamint Springs Resort
Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing