We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panamint Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$300
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$253
bedfinder
View Deal
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel(Death Valley National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
102
203
181
105
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
203
181
105
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer selectiondarwin fallstent cabinspizzarestaurant barfull hookupslong drivemilky wayrooms are basicexploring death valleynational parkdesertballaratsolitudedvwildernesssignal
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 740 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Did an overnight stop here and found whilst things were basic, they were clean, the aircon worked fine, good shower and liked the make up remover tissues in the amenities. Staff very friendly, and we shared a wonderful tasty pizza with a view from the restaurant verandah out the front, looking over the valley area, very ambient as the sun sets. And, who could argue with 180 different types of beer .. it's a resort without a pool, but the beer is fantastic, especially if you are from Oz ... and the stars at night are as good as ours too. One of our memorable and favourite stops on our roadie around USA/Canada.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed here before in the campsite in an RV, and then this year we came back to stay in the motel itself.

The room was basic, but fine. The AC is a little noisy, but does a surprisingly good job of keeping the room cool and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and there's an impressive beer selection too. Breakfast is nothing special, but it's a decent buffet. There is no TV, but there is WiFi...which struggles to keep up with more than 5 or 6 people trying to use it, so get up early if you want to surf without frustration - or just get up early and look at the stars or the sunrise in the fantastic clear sky over the mountains.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - and when I left my phone charger in my room they posted it to me (a 70 mile round trip to the post office for them) for only $15.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind and honest review. I'm glad you received your cord. We hope to see you visiting again in the future.

The internet is a satellite connection, and can be slow during peak hours. After 11pm our bandwidth opens up, so the speed is much quicker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review takes into account the remote location and incredibly harsh conditions with which the Panamint Springs has to contend. The term 'resort' is a misnomer, but you will find a clean and quaintly charming motel in an ideal location for exploring Death Valley. The staff were particularly friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area. Dinner was actually pretty good considering where we were. Breakfast wasn't great and you don't get much for $10. There is no pool, which is a shame as a dip would have really hit the spot. In the hot months make sure you request one of the handful of rooms with AC when booking. The swamp cooling system will get the temperature from 120 to the 80s, but you'll need the extra AC to get into the more comfortable 70s. If you are a light sleeper my biggest piece of advice is to bring earplugs because both cooling systems are very loud and you might not get much sleep without them. The gas here is slightly more expensive than the Chevron at Furnace Creek and much more than outside the park. A few more tips: if you enter the park from the west, pull over and have a look at the Joshua tree 'forest' at elevations above 4000 feet, it's quite something. At night look up at the stars--Death Valley displays one of the most fantastic night skies I have ever seen. In conclusion, if you are fine with basic accommodation this is a good choice, and apart from the 5 star luxury resort at Furnace Creek (which is obviously way more expensive) the other options in Death valley don't look much better. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind and honest review! We hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've been traveling to Death Valley for years, and I've had a couple good experiences at Panamint Springs. I camped there a couple years ago (winter) on my way down into the valley. Last week, I spent a night in the motel, so I got to know the facilities better. I had a really nice time!

The staff clearly take great pride in what they do. As they'll be glad to tell you in the general store, the restaurant's beer selection is fantastic (even by Northern Californian standards, living near some incredible liquor stores). The restaurant also had fair prices for cocktails, like their "signature" prickly pear margarita. Prices can often be very high within Death Valley, since goods need to be transported long distances before being served to customers, so the food and drink prices were lower than expected.

We and our dog stayed in a pet-friendly room. The carpet looked like it had been very recently replaced--everything was spotless. The duvet cover also looked brand-new. There were some brown washcloths (next to all the other towels and washcloths, which were white) and a note asking that for makeup removal, we use the brown washcloths rather than stain their other ones. Then, along with the toiletries, they provided little packets of makeup-removing towelettes! I was very impressed. The motel is old, and it's in a place where it's probably hard for them to receive services, and the staff is clearly putting a great deal of thought into their guests' experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you noticed some of the little touches. I hope you will return again in the future! All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were expecting this place to be in the back of beyond and knew they had no TV or pool, we had mixed feelings about it after the stay, the staff were very friendly but the room needed a lot of attention as already has been commented on by others, so many rules and "you will be charged if you.............." The air con couldn't be adjusted and was on all the time which was terribly noisy.On the whole taking in to account the location it was OK but still feel the price rather high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you had mixed feelings about your stay here. We are the least expensive accommodation in Death Valley National Park, therefore are rooms are more rustic that the other accommodations. We are remodeling each room as we can, which will include a new vent system for the cooling system which can be closed by the guest. Thank you for your review and honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews