We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dog-friendly place to stay within the National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Dog-friendly place to stay within the National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The good:

Dog friendly - Nicest place to stay since Furnace Creek Inn does not allow pets.
Location - right at the sand dunes - well situated to do the main park highlights
Clean - spacious rooms - single story - park outside your door
Saloon is great and has a surprisingly good selection on tap including Mammoth Brewing beers. Since we have a dog, we were able to order our dinner "to-go".
Restaurant is good also and the breakfast biscuits are killer
General store across the street

The bad:
No internet except for a slow connection in the lobby
Air conditioning was loud...but did serve as white noise in case of exterior sounds. At least it worked since it was 100 degrees in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPH85268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    740
    418
    144
    52
See reviews for
423
842
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stovepipe Wells Village may not have all the fancy trimmings that Furnace Creek Inn does but it's a great place to stay. It's super clean, friendly and offers everything you need after a long hot day of hiking - a nice pool, cold beer, comfortable beds and quiet. We will definitely be back! Oh, and did I mention that it's about 1/3 the price of Furnace Creek?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javage
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent three nights here and other than an extremely noisy air-conditioner, it was comfortable, clean, quiet and most importantly, in a great location. It's not luxury. The rooms are a nice size, with two queen beds, and plenty of space to spread out your photo gear. There is no internet or cellphone service in your room. There is one payphone in the 'village'. The village consists of a general store, saloon, restaurant, pool, and guest lounge (where there is very spotty and slow internet). My cellphone would text message in the saloon but I couldn't make calls. I was forced to disconnect and hey, that wasn't so bad at all! Loved the pool - it was refreshing and after returning from sunrise hikes or drives, and as the temperatures went above 100 degrees, the pool was great and not crowded at all in the early afternoon. Breakfast was a little expensive but they had fresh fruit! Staff were pleasant and accommodating. We drove down to Furnace Creek, which is a much larger village, but also much busier and noisier (although I can't speak for the nights). I was happy where we were. And Death Valley is awesome (and desolate for the most part). The Lobotomy beer hit the spot after a dusty, hot day in the desert.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a great location right in the heart of Death Valley and close to the sand dunes. The room was large, very clean with a nice bathroom and the staff were really helpful and friendly. It looks great with the whole Gold Rush image and has plenty of amenities. The two downsides I would say would be not great wi-fi and the breakfast was quite expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Stovepipe Wells around Xmas. It could benefit from some competition.

SERVICE: The staff were courteous and answered my questions about the area. Lack of reliable internet access anywhere in the hotel is an inconvenience.

VALUE: Of the few hotels in Death Valley National Park, this one was the most affordable, but there's very little to use as a frame of reference.

SLEEP QUALITY: The beds were not especially comfortable, but more-or-less what you would expect in a remote area where delicate linens are probably impractical.

CLEANLINESS: The rooms were a little musty, but clean.

LOCATION: Fairly well placed if you plan on exploring DVNP in all directions. The remoteness is great for stargazing.

ROOMS: Rooms could use an update and are a bit sparse.

RESTAURANT: The adjacent restaurant is your only real option. It is a little disappointing - prices are high and the food is on the bland side.

I would like to advise travellers to consider other options well visiting this part of DVNP. However, since none exist, I would have to advise them to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Location is absolutely stunning, in the real center of the Death Valley. We spent just one night and we got to the spot without any reservation. We were offered a deluxe room which revealed to be quite expensive and pretty old. Recommended to those who want to live the experience of sleeping in such an iconic place. Making a reservation will probably result in better rates.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Pros: peaceful, near sand dunes, food at hotel is tasty, cheapest place for gas in DV, room is basic but clean, rooms facing sand dunes are best.

Cons: not many eatery choices, lack of wi-fi services, expensive, no phone in room, A/C is loud.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing