We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“superb!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in August towards the end of a three week road trip. We have stayed here several times before and have always found it to be exactly what we wanted. We had one of the bigger rooms in the 49ers block. Really comfortable big room, two lovely comfortable beds, fridge, big bathroom- and amazing view of the dunes! We had breakfast in the dining room which was extremely good- and really atmospheric decor.The atmosphere here is totally informed by the location- perfect.We have a precious memory of sitting out at midnight on one of the benches (tucked away slightly up the hill to the side of the room blocks) in total peace watching the perfect sky and stars- still around 100 degrees- bliss! We would love to return and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Worth paying for one of the bigger rooms with a dune view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    778
    442
    147
    59
See reviews for
461
883
83
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Death Valley is an extreme location (at the height of the seasons) and this motel style lodging was excellent, just what we had hoped for in terms of simple, modern clean essential amenities in a motel style, with a dining option and an overpriced bar.

Don't think there are many other places local to this, and arrive in time for the restaurant to close at 9 pm sharp.

Food service was not anywhere near friendly or helpful but was totally acceptable despite that.

Bar prices are (by my standards at least) high with a whiskey at $8 but hey, its in the [--] end of America where the water courses (creeks at the best of times) don't leave the valley and the Vegas crowds don't venture.

The worst aspect of a stay here is that when you leave, the long straight, narrow tarmac strip or road has a 65 mph speed limit, surely they could de-restrict one wee bit for a good ol blast of the turbo?

Tempted by the pool (open till midnight) but never made it there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHLN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. Perfect place to explore Death Valley from. Room was basic but clean. It had all you required. Saloon had excellent beer and food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 2 thumbs up from me!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmond, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of our South-West USA tour.
The hotel looks like a western village. Friendly check-inn.
Room was small, but clean. Bathroom a bit older, not completely spotless. Rooms are a bit noisy, we could here our neighbours talking.

There is a bar, restaurant, swimming pool (open till 12 pm), store, gasstation and wifi is available.
Diner in restaurant was nice, service is a bit simple. For example; they forget to bring your drinks, can of water is taken from our table and put on someone else's. But it's not a 5 starr restaurant.. :-)

Ambiance of the hotel / motel is very nice!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room is somewhat basic, but it had a flatscreen tv, microwave, coffeemaker and was kept spotless clean. The AC was a little bit noisy, but after a long day of hiking and photography I was so tired that it really didn't bother me at all. I really liked the separate faucet for drinking water. One has to get used to the fact that even the cold water came out hot out the faucet! Once all the daytourists are gone, you will have the hotel and Death Valley for yourself. The most impressive thing was the nightsky. I have never seen so many stars! Overall, a really great place to stay in Death Valley!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holgerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent one night in a standard room -- 2 double beds, a desk and chair. First thing we noticed was the lip print on one of the water glasses. Then we noticed that neither of them had been cleaned. Nor had the two coffee cups. They were filthy. So was the bath mat. And there was this pink stain on the toilet we didn't want to think about. At least the sheets were clean and the beds firm.

Unfortunately we didn't sleep a wink due to the 1950's vintage AC*. It kept cycling on and off all night long. (Tip: if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.) In the morning there was no hot water. When checking out, we were told, well, the pipes are 50 years old. Ok. But maybe let us know when checking in that coaxing hot water out of the faucets might be challenging.

Stovepipe Wells is managed by the Death Valley Lodging Company and initially, we thought they just don't care about their guests. Upon checking out, we mentioned the cleanliness issues and lack of hot water and were told the manager would contact us when they got in that morning at 9am. Guess what. No one contacted us. At least not right away.

We later learned we were some of the last guests to stay at Stovepipe before they closed due to the government shutdown. So it took a few days for the manager to contact us but when she did, she was genuinely horrified at the condition of our room. She refunded our stay and resolved to take up the cleanliness issues with the cleaning staff. She would also let the engineers know about the lack of hot water. Her professional, courteous response prompted me to update my rating from one star to two.

*One additional comment about the AC. There was a large ceiling fan in our room and in late-fall, winter months, the AC is probably not needed and the fan can be used for air flow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Squamish,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. We appreciate your feedback and since we last spoke as you noted, I have refunded your stay and can assure you that we have resolved all issues regarding your room. Since then, I have worked directly with our Housekeeping Manager and Engineering Director to thoroughly inspect your room. We have also taken the time during our closure due to the government shutdown to inspect all rooms, and make property upgrades. I apologize for your experience, and hope that we can only continue to improve upon our guest service and experience in the future. We encourage all upcoming guests, to contact us immediately so we can assist and resolve any issues prior to check out. We hope that you will consider once again staying with us in one of nature’s most extreme and unique environments. If I can be of further assistance to you please contact me.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose a deluxe room which added a refridgerator and flat-screen T.V. Deluxe is not a word you can use here - the room was functional although the A/C was intrusive, the springs in the matresses could be felt and the plumbing in the shower and the sink leaked. Overall, the place needs attention and the 'rustic experience' is no excuse for a lack of attention to the 21st Century needs of travellers. A little investment and imaginative foresight is needed by the National Park owners. The food was just OK - the service amateurish - the bar had potential. To add an automatic 15% service charge to restaurant and bar bills though is an unjustifiable liberty but I doubt people would tip for poor/slow service given the choice. I know it's in Death Valley and that there are a lot of one night stays but that is still no excuse for indifference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AZMaverick,

We appreciate your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. Please know that I have shared this review with our property managers and our goal is to continually improve upon our guest service and experience while visiting Death Valley National Park. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience with our hotel and restaurant. Please feel free to contact me at 760-786-2387.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
15 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing