We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“HOT! Great Short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“HOT! Great Short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here in May for 1 night on our way to Las Vegas.

The outside looks fab being in the dessert and having an authentic accommodation.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a little over priced but food was fine.

The rooms were fine not great and not great air conditioning.

We would be happy to stay again. Its close to the sand dunes and other sites are around an hour or so away but being such a huge national park that would be the case anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank london18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    704
    386
    135
    51
See reviews for
409
789
75
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Stovepipe Wells. It is a lovely hotel/model in the middle of the desert, so there is a few things to point out.
- You will love the pool, which is cool enough to enjoy when it is 45 degrees outside.
- You will appreciate the ice distributor, because there is no cold water in the room - even when you turn the cold water on, you get hot water.
- The only places you can get food from are the general store and the restaurant, and they close at 10pm.
- Food and goods are a bit expensive, but after all, you are in the desert.
- The two double beds room can get a bit tiny when you are four sharing it.
- The gift shop is actually quite good, and not too tacky-touristy.
- The fuel is cheaper there than in Furnace Creek so fill up the tank before heading south-east.
I would definitely stay again, the staff is great, there is a computer room with board games. And you can go watch the sunset in the dunes, 2 minutes away by car. If you are planning to go to Death Valley, definitely stop there!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julyschronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2013 as part of our Honeymoon. I know, nothing says romance quite like roasting to death in Death Valley! What can I say, I am the last of the true romantics!
It should be pointed out that the motel isn't at Stovepipe Wells - it IS Stovepipe Wells!

Other than the general store/gas station across the road, there's nothing else here. If you arrive late and have missed the restaurant & general store's closing, you've had it!

We had booked directly with the motel and the check in went smoothly enough, although there was a bit of a queue. The staff were pleasant enough.

A word of warning when you get to your room - if the door is bathed in sunlight, be wary of the door handle: it will be red hot.

Opened the door to the room and it became immediately apparent that the room hadn't been service by housekeeping. The dirty bed linens were pilled up in the middle of the bed. There was also a terrible smell coming from the bathroom.

My wife went back to reception to report the problem with the bed whilst I brought our bags in from the car. I also investigated the smell in the bathroom. It stemmed from the fact that the toilet was blocked - completely.

I joined my wife in reception and had to wait approximately 15 minutes to be served again (it was busy in there and a group of French tourists were having problems with their credit cards.) We were eventually moved to a different room, which was much better.

The food in the restaurant was, we felt, expensive and of not particularly good quality. The breakfast buffet was terrible. It was clear that the food had been standing there for quite some time and had congealed.

To be fair, it wasn't all bad - their pool was excellent. It made a nice, refreshing way to relax and was open until midnight. In the main, the staff were very friendly and chatty. It is just a shame that so little care seems to be taken with the food and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't miss closing time - or make sure you've got food and water. If you don't it is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Wildsnaps,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. I am glad you enjoyed our pool to cool down in the evening and interacting with our pleasant staff. I am sorry our internal miscommunication created an undesirable situation upon arrival to your room. I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and assure you that we take our guest responses seriously. Please know I have shared your review with our management, front desk, and housekeeping staff to ensure that we do not open rooms until they have gone through our inspection process. We strive for continuous improvement and will use your valuable feedback to advance our hotel and restaurant and hope to improve future guest experiences. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we hope to see you again at Stovepipe Wells Village. I would like to speak to you further about your stay and make this up to you, please contact me at 760-786-2605.

Kind regards,

Lee Nelson
Director of Lodging
760-786-2605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is a real surprise. About 25 miles from Death Valley National Park Visitors Centre and Furnace Creek but perfectly located for our 3 days and 2 nights exploring the national park. All facilities are in one location including general store with gas station, gift shop, saloon, restaurant, rec area and pool open until midnight. On offer is all you need at the end of an active day. I suggest in this location you book a room that includes refrigerator and TV, not in all rooms. Rooms are spacious but don't bother paying more for a room with a view, you walk outside for that. Aircon is noisy (needs upgrade) but ceiling fan was perfectly adequate for a quiet night's sleep. Everything clean and modern. Plenty of parking and friendly staff. Wifi in rec area fair at best. Great place and good value. Given you are hostage to restaurant, it is fairly priced and reasonable value for meals, as is breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on road trip round West US. The room could not be described as luxurious but it was clean, comfortable and had every amenity needed including a coffee maker which is something we didn't get in Vegas. The toiletries were really special too. The air conditioning was effective if a little noisy; as it was 50 degrees outside we were just grateful it was there. Happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 5/31-6/02 in the Stovepipe Wells Village. The people were super friendly. The people the gift shop, general store, bar and restaurant all chatted with us and remembered us from one day to the next. The bartender poured great drinks and let me sample the tap beer to see which one I prefered. The food at the restaurant was high priced but the portions were large. They had buffet breakfast, lunch is served in the bar then the restaurant opens for dinner again. We got a deluxe room and it had a nice flat screen and the ac kept the room at 75º without any problems. That was good because it was 113º outside. Parking was right outside the front door. The room had a back door with a little patio so you could put a folding chair out there and enjoy the sunrise if you wanted to. There was a mini fridge in the room that kept stuff cold. They put 2 bottles of water in the room and gave us a coupon for a bag of ice at the general store. The coffee in the room wasn't very good. They have slow wireless internet in the lounge and bar plus there are 2 computers to use in the lounge. There is a pool open late and that is nice when it is so hot. The website had a 25% off code so the room rate was a lot cheaper than Furnace Creek. The gas is expensive but 50 cents to a dollar a gallon less than the other 2 places to get gas in the park.

Room Tip: Deluxe room for tv and mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was nice and simple, and the facilities are very well maintained. One of the coolest things about this resort is that the pool is open really late. We stayed in room 4 which is in this little courtyard which had a small table and was in range of the wifi. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. The ONLY complaint I have is that the internet is painfully slow and the food in the restaurant is inconsistent.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are the best. They are closest to everything and you get an outside table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Midnight_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
45.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing