We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice for Death Valley Nat'l Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Good Choice for Death Valley Nat'l Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Two friends and I stayed here for two nights, 1/14-1/16, 2013. We were pleased with our accomodations. The room was basic but perfectly well appointed, two queen beds, dresser, desk, TV, coffee maker. Bathroom w/shower was OK. Very clean. Staff at registration couldn't be nicer or more polite - free fresh coffee and computer in a room off of the registration office. Food at the restaurants was OK and reasonablly priced. Good bar. It IS a bit pricey, but then this is the middle of nowhere and your other choices are 1. Furnace Creek which is even more expensive or 2. Patamint Springs which is another 20 minuteson into nowhere and even more spartan from the reviews I've read. If visiting the park for a few nights, you will want to stay in the park, as driving distances are long to any other hotels. Parumph is about 80 miles away and Beatty is 50 miles away. This hotel was in a perfect location and a quick drive to all of the sites to see at Death Valley. No in room telephone service and only internet service is at the registration area, but then hey, you ARE in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    734
    406
    141
    51
See reviews for
418
827
80
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location is great, 2 mins drive from Mesquite dunes, so you can easily witness the sunrise over the dunes. However the rooms are more like a motel. They are neat and tidy but the walls are extremely thin and the rooms really small. You will be able to hear every sound in the next room. I dont expect great stuff inside a national park, after all its not about luxury but about nature. However they charged 112$ for this room which i felt was a little overpriced. I might go back if i plan to photograph sunrise at Mesquite Dunes, but that will be the only motivation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean the food was about average understanding where you are. The location was good it gave us a jump off point to visit all the different areas. We had a great time it was not what I expected of death Valley the picture in my mind was totally different from the actual death Valley. It was beautiful. We Did the 27 mile dirt road trip to the racetrack worth every mile how wondrous. Glad we did this trip in the wintertime I don't think I would like to be here during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family visited Death Valley on Dec. 20-21, 2012. We stayed in Stovepipe Wells for one night. The location there is almost in the heart of the Death Valley. 2 miles away from Sand Dunes. If you would enjoy the morning golden sand dunes with sun rise, you need ask the north side room when you booking hotel.
Room was okay with only blanket no comforter provide; Bath & shower was working; Reception service is friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was good and the price was inexpensive in that location. So if you plan to visit Death Valley during winter I would recommend that you bring your own comforter with you. Also it is better to stay 2 nights at the valley which is stay in 2 different locations (for example, one night at Stovepipe Wells and one night at Furnace Creek). In that way you save time and gas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenLuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have driven by this motel for 30 years and finally stopped. Very nice room #66 on the end of the Cottonwood set of rooms. No TV, yeah!!! No Phone Yeah!!!! Clean renovated bathrooms, see my pictures. Nice gift shop, yeah!!! One Hour from Scotty's castle. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 66 and room 65 are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great Location with walking distance to sand dunes. Receptionist was really friendly and provided lots useful information. Room was okay, typical motel room. Had dinner one night at the restaurant, surprising good and not expensive at all, staff was also very attentitive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Death Valley at Thanksgiving and it was beautiful. We stayed two nights at Stovepipe Wells Village in the deluxe rooms which meant it had a TV. Pros of this place - the location is great. Close to the sand dunes and right inside the park. Nice pool but it is not heated so don't expect to use it in the winter. There is a general store across the street so you can get what you need if you forgot something. The rooms are a good size. Cons: The walls are super thin. There are no phones in the room so if you need anything you have to walk or drive to the registration desk. Ok, I know you are out in the middle of nowhere, so this is forgivable. Our fridge was not coming on, so we reported it and they said they would send someone over. When we got back, it seemed to kick on, so we then told them it was working but they wanted to still send someone. Not sure if they did or not. We don't usually have our room cleaned and we told the maintenance guy, we did not need service after we arrived to our room with the door opened an inch and nobody in it. Two hours later, the maintenance person put his key in the door and opened it. No knock or anything. I don't understand this. I told him we did not need anything so why would they do that? Really annoying. The restaurant had mediocre food at high prices as well. There is nothing else around so you are pretty much stuck if you don't want to drive 20 miles. On the second night, we at jerky, packaged sandwiches and frozen burritos from the store to avoid the restaurant.

If you can handle the extra driving, I would highly recommend the Best Western in Pahrump, NV. We moved there after staying at Stovepipe Wells and we are so glad we did. It was half the price, free breakfast and restaurant choice for dinner after spending the day seeing the park.

In conclusion, Death Valley is awesome but I would not stay at Stovepipe Wells if I go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkkm0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing