We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, friendly service and good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly service and good food.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great Location with walking distance to sand dunes. Receptionist was really friendly and provided lots useful information. Room was okay, typical motel room. Had dinner one night at the restaurant, surprising good and not expensive at all, staff was also very attentitive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    748
    421
    146
    52
See reviews for
427
850
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Death Valley at Thanksgiving and it was beautiful. We stayed two nights at Stovepipe Wells Village in the deluxe rooms which meant it had a TV. Pros of this place - the location is great. Close to the sand dunes and right inside the park. Nice pool but it is not heated so don't expect to use it in the winter. There is a general store across the street so you can get what you need if you forgot something. The rooms are a good size. Cons: The walls are super thin. There are no phones in the room so if you need anything you have to walk or drive to the registration desk. Ok, I know you are out in the middle of nowhere, so this is forgivable. Our fridge was not coming on, so we reported it and they said they would send someone over. When we got back, it seemed to kick on, so we then told them it was working but they wanted to still send someone. Not sure if they did or not. We don't usually have our room cleaned and we told the maintenance guy, we did not need service after we arrived to our room with the door opened an inch and nobody in it. Two hours later, the maintenance person put his key in the door and opened it. No knock or anything. I don't understand this. I told him we did not need anything so why would they do that? Really annoying. The restaurant had mediocre food at high prices as well. There is nothing else around so you are pretty much stuck if you don't want to drive 20 miles. On the second night, we at jerky, packaged sandwiches and frozen burritos from the store to avoid the restaurant.

If you can handle the extra driving, I would highly recommend the Best Western in Pahrump, NV. We moved there after staying at Stovepipe Wells and we are so glad we did. It was half the price, free breakfast and restaurant choice for dinner after spending the day seeing the park.

In conclusion, Death Valley is awesome but I would not stay at Stovepipe Wells if I go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkkm0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed here before but this time the temperature hovered around freezing point which removed some of the unique charm of Death Vallley. The Stovepipe Wells Village is in a unique location and they charge extra for that privilege - in my case more than double compared to similar accommodation outside the valley - that's OK since there is almost no competition unless you're prepared to start paying $100+ more for some of the other places.
Rooms are nicely decorated. We were in the Roadrunner block and had a TV and Fridge. I paid a bit extra for a 'dune view' room but it should really have been called 'parking lot view'.
We ate in the restaurant and the only thing on the menu apart from a special New Years Eve meal were burgers. When our 4 meals arrived they were varying degrees of cold (should have sent them back) but quite tasty anyway. The Continental breakfast was pretty good but the cooked was below average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed here before when visiting Death Valley, and found it adequate. But I visited over New Year's, and sorely regretted it. The walls are EXTREMELY thin at Stovepipe Wells, which means you will not only hear the people in the room next to you talking, but you will also hear them snoring, farting, and doing other things you don't want to hear. Maybe that's not a problem in the low season, but when every room is full, you hear people on three sides of you. We had crying babies, slamming doors, arguing, and someone with very loud digestive problems.

The next night, the heat did not work in our room. It was 32 degrees out. When we reported it to the management, they didn't seem to care. IN fact, just about every interaction we had with the management was unpleasant, including at the sub-par restaurant.

This is not what I expect from a hotel when I am paying $150 a night.

We wandered over to Furnace Creek later in the day, where we found the food to be better, the location to be better, and the staff to be much, much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good value, good food, good beds and air con in rooms.
We checked in late and our rooms were ready and food was still being served.
There wasn't a TV in the room but this didn't bother us as we didn't go to Death Valley to watch TV!
The sand-dunes are just a 5 minute drive and well worth a visit..we when in the evening as much cooler!
A simple but lovely motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The room was pleasant and large, they are dog friendly. The walls are very thin, and the neighbours had a baby who cried starting very early in the morning. There was nowhere to take a simple morning hike from the room, and the campground across the highway was a barren parking lot. We ate at the restaurant, while the staff was friendly the food was TERRIBLE! The bar itself looked like fun.
I suggest driving to Beatty where to hotel rooms are just as good for 1/3 the price, and the restaurants know how to serve a great meal!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We loved the quiet Stovepipe Wells area, where we stayed 4 nights in the 49er building. Our window was East-facing, giving us a wonderful view as early morning sunlight flooded the valley. Like most national park lodges, the motel is somewhat Spartan, but it was squeaky clean, spacious, and comfortable. Though we did not turn on the TV during our stay, the 49er and one other building feature flat screen TVs. We were glad we'd chosen this location rather than the much busier Furnace Creek area, though we did go to Furnace Creek to use the laundromat (reasonable charges: $1 for washers and 25 cents for each drying cycle).

Stovepipe Wells features a comfortable lounge next to the gift shop and a tiny library, where guests can exchange one book for another. The gift shop and the store stay open late hours, and gas is cheaper here than at Furnace Creek.

Check-in and check-out were efficient; and all employees (desk clerks, store operators, wait staff, and housekeepers) went out of their way to be helpful.

The dining room and lounge (where lunch is served) seemed understaffed, and the food was just average--but better than what we had at the Furnace Creek cafe. I'd recommend cereal in the room over the rather expensive and limited breakfast buffet--but the wait staff scurried around and seemed to be trying their best.

Room Tip: 49er or Roadrunner buildings for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ctrip TA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing