We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$300
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$253
bedfinder
View Deal
Panamint Springs Resort(Death Valley National Park)
$35
$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,929)
Filter reviews
1,929 results
Traveler rating
372
856
481
157
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
856
481
157
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesstovepipe wellsmosaic canyondune viewgeneral storefurnace creekdeath valleygift shopgas stationnational parkair conwi fimilky wayfire pitdeluxe roomsaloon barstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 1,929 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for a night when visiting Death Valley NP. The place was nice, our room was just right what we needed for a good night sleep after a whole day journey. We had no problem there, just nice memories. We would stay there again and can recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location, basic no-frills room. I have stayed in other national park lodging and paid a great deal more for less.

We made this our 'home base' for a six-night stay in the park, and ate dinner at the restaurant most evenings. Based on the reviews here, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Awful. If the weather is too bad for camping across the street, drive on. Don't know if the septic was bad or hydrogen sulphide is common there. People in front of us got a lower rate and they were walkins also. No TV. Internet useless. Very small room. Restaurant is below average.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any good rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelerPaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Too bad there isn't an option for 3 1/2 stars, because that's about where this place rates, somewhere between "average" and "very good". For what it is, which is, a national park concession, Stovepipe Wells Village is pretty good. There was a bit of excitement while checking in, as an RV caught fire in the campground across the highway, but the staff handled things professionally and eventually got back to checking us in. There was a snafu because our reservation was claimed by someone else with a very similar name, but it was quickly fixed, and we were upgraded to a room with a view of the sand dunes for the trouble (certainly not expected just for making us wait a few extra minutes to get checked in, but appreciated the gesture nonetheless).

We were in the Roadrunner building, which as noted by another poster, is quiet since it's a little away from the highway, but you do have to walk a little to get back to the restaurant/gift shop area. The upgraded room was large, and the fridge came in big handy. However, I found the beds to be really hard, and left me with a backache each morning. The restaurant on the property is average; food is OK, prices are high but not obnoxiously so. On our first night, they were WAY understaffed with just one waitress for the entire joint (though she was doing her best, and was very friendly), but things were much better the second night. The hostess gave us some suggestions of where to go the next day. The hotel does have wireless internet, but it's slow, and gave out entirely our second night. Then again, what do you expect in Death Valley? If you're coming out here for internet access, you really should find another place to go!

Location in the park is good. You are no more than 45 minutes from all of the main sites, and a very short drive or longer walk to the Mesquite Sand Dunes and Mosaic Canyon (beware, it's only 2.4 miles, but a 1,000 foot elevation gain - think twice about doing this in the summer!).

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Roadrunner" building are quiet, but you will have to walk a bit to get to the restaurant or gift shop. Cell phones don't work here, but if you really need to make a phone call, there is coverage about halfway down the road to Panamint Springs at the top of the pass, or about 9 miles west on the road to Scotty's Castle, at the parking lot just past the turnoff to Beatty.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeanMeosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stovepipe Wells Village was clean and simple. Totally adequate and a convenient place to stay after a day of exploring Death Valley. Nothing fancy. They did provide a coupon for a free bag of ice to go (for ice chests) in the morning. They have an on-site restaurant which was also convenient. Gas was $5.98 in Stovepipe Wells so we were glad we could wait until Lone Pine to fill up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistoryNutCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews