We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting Death Valley. Check in staff were lovely. Room was clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the bad water basin and it was really good and the staff were lovely sorry cant remember the servers name. Got up early for sunrise which was amazing. Coffee in the common area whenever you want it.

Room Tip: We stayed near reception and the room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    778
    442
    147
    59
See reviews for
461
883
83
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this place, but overpriced for what it is. We put this down to location, which is incredible. Can't remember ever being to somewhere so quiet. Reception staff average, restaurant very busy at certain times, but have to expect that, because nowhere else to eat within 30 miles. Pool is a real plus point. Room was fine, clean, cool and quiet. Would rate this place higher if it was a bit cheaper. Remember where it is, before laying into it. We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulliverRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The managers were so welcoming in the middle of no where & the restaurant had great food. Ranger Jay was fun talking Jon the dining room. Would recommend it to anyone - just a little rustic. But is was a step up from sleeper sofa in Las Vegas. The weather was hot but great - nice stopping in the middle of the valley after drive to Scotty's Castle.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat34125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a very nice motel in the middle of nowhere in the middle of Death Valley National Park. The room was large with a small refrigerator and comfortable bed. The room looked clean, but the carpets were dirty - i noticed dirt from the park on the bottom of my shoes so I am as much to blame as any of the previous guests. Just use flip flops or socks to be washed and you will be just fine. This was a great location for an early morning visit to the nearby sand dunes or Mosaic Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we actually booked this place as a 'halfway point' when driving from sequoia to the grand canyon, without really expecting much. it turned out to be one of the high points of our 2 week west coast trip! lovely staff, a nice pool looking out over the desert, and everything we needed during our stay - fuel, food, a decent gift shop. the air con in the room is fairly loud, but it also does a great job in one of the hottest places on earth!

10 minute drive to mosaic canyon, which is well worth a visit, and 10 minutes in the other direction to the mohave sand dunes, another beautiful stop off. i would definitely recommend a day or two stopoff here as part of any roadtrip in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed here several years, including times under the prior ownership/management. The new company (Death Valley Lodging) has improved the rooms a fair bit and they are a bit less spartan than they were several years ago. Location is excellent, particularly if you want to hike the sand dunes. Still, one has to be very clear about what you're getting here, and that is a place to stay in one of the most brutal, barren, yet wonderful and intriguing national parks in the land. This is about as far as you can get from a 5 star elite hotel - it's basic lodging, nothing more, nothing less, and I feel if you go into it with this in mind, you'll be fine. The front desk staff has been consistently friendly across many years of coming here, the general store across the street is excellent. The only negative is that the on-site restaurant has a very limited menu selection, somewhat slow service, and barely above average food - it's the one thing I wish "they" would do better, but given how bloody far out in the middle of nowhere this place is, I really can't complain that much. So I buy food elsewhere and don't expect to eat that amazingly when I stay here. The bar is nice and friendly though.
Recommended as long as you keep your expectations of what types of lodging exist out here in the desert realistic. This is never going to be a Tenaya Lodge near Yosemite, for example.

(And yes, the A/C runs constantly - it has to - and it's not whisper quiet. You can deal with the noise or you can broil in the 110-125 (or higher) degree heat. Your choice...)

Room Tip: If you want a TV, get the "deluxe" room when you book. Don't plan on getting any type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvlMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This motel is literally in the middle of Death Valley, which is one of the most stunningly beautiful places I have ever visited. The motel is just that, so don't expect a five star spa resort. The room was clean, the air conditioner worked wonderfully in the 126 degree summer heat. The front desk staff were exceptional: friendly, helpful, enthusiastic. Unless you come prepared, the only dining options anywhere nearby are snacks from the general store and the restaurant and saloon on property. The restaurant wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. However, it was quite expensive for the quality, as is usual for locations with a captive audience, I suppose. The pool wasn't too clean and it was warmer than bath water, so not much relief from the heat. Reserve early, as space is limited and the location is the best in Death Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
15 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing