We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center
Save
Review Highlights
Cathedral of a Cave!

I was more than surprised how cool this place was. I thought it was just the mouth of the cave... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bao H
,
Phoenix, Arizona
Wonderful cave and access during Covid times

We had to queue up in front of the visitor center in blinding snow after a two hour delay to open... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Anonymous855
,
Trabuco Canyon, California
Read all 1,099 reviews
  
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveler rating
893
162
31
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
893
162
31
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop self guided tour natural entrance big room new mexico bucket list kings palace tour road trip bring a jacket national treasure take your time walked down tunnel tour light jacket left hand an amazing place long walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2015

A must Visit on the National Parks List!!! They have lots of information about the cave system in the area. Very information cave tour. VERY VERY COOL PLACE!.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank 744brente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

I grew up going to the caverns. They are amazing and a must see, however this was my first time taking my 2 year old daughter. The park does not allow strollers. It is way to steep and if you were to lose it would either go off a ledge or wipe someone out. My daughter does not like to be carried or put in a carrier- the back packs were out of the question which left us hiking down a trail with a toddler fighting us the whole time. In some parts there is nothing but a foot tall ledge between you and a drop off that would be a death fall for a toddler (not an exaggeration) so letting her walk was also out of the question, especially because she kept trying to run down the steep hill. This is def something for kids over the age of 3 or 4, or for someone who's toddler is fine with a carrier. None of this is meant to reflect badly on the park. The park is a great attraction and fun to see! This is just an FYI for parents who are bringing a head strong-independent toddler. You may want to wait a couple years.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

Plenty to see while enjoying the hike down into the caves including a few bats. Enjoy the sights, I recommend walking down and taking the elevator up but you could do both if time and health permits. The visitor center was full of information on the area with gifts, food, etc. Must do and hope to get back there sometime.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank carsonf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

We were here on March 29, and we really enjoyed our visit to Carlsbad Caverns. We arrived around 9am, spoke to the helpful staff in the Visitor Center, and entered the cave through the Natural Entrance. We had to move fairly quickly to make it down in time for our scheduled tour to begin, so we couldn't pause as much as we might have wanted- it took us about 45 minutes to get down.

We took the King's Palace tour, which we are glad we took, given it is the only way to see those parts of the caverns, but we didn't love the tour. It was much longer than it needed to be, and our kids (ages 4 and 6) got really bored. We were happy to be guided by someone to protect the caves, but the commentary was lengthy and not that informative.

After the tour, we wanted to have lunch in the underground lunchroom, but there wasn't much on offer, so we went upstairs. In the upstairs cafeteria, our food was decent, but the service was terrible- it took almost 45 minutes from the time of ordering to get our food. In the future, I would definitely pack a lunch in a cooler to avoid this.

Then we went back down and toured the Big Room. We were able to do this at our own pace, and although the shorter loop was crowded, we did the full loop and it was less crowded. The sights are not as spectacular as the King's Palace tour, but we did like doing it on our own.

The bats were not in town when we were there, so we did not experience that. After the Big Room, we spent some obligatory time in the gift shop with the kids and were headed back to Carlsbad around 3:30 after taking some time to look at the surrounding desert and thinking a bit about how the caves were formed. So, if you are trying to do this in one day, if you are visiting the main caverns only, it can be done.

The Visitor Center was receiving some upgrades while we were there, but there is definitely a need for some maintenance and updating here- it seemed like a bit of a neglected corner of the NPS. I know they are having budget issues, and I am sure the folks at the park were doing what they could, but the restrooms needed maintenance, with some of the doors not working and sink fixtures being not quite right. There were a number of places where the paths needed some attention. Hopefully these things have been addressed since our visit.

So, visit, spend your money there, support this wonderful natural wonder! It really does need to be seen to be appreciated!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank jld1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

Went Carlsbad Caverns when coming back from Ruidoso, NM with my parents. The drive was pretty smooth and we were pretty excited to go. But i never imagined it was such an awesome experience/tour! We rented the audio tour and it was great, we got some inside details. We took the elevator that goes 700ft underground, and it was great! The walk inside the Big Room takes about ah hour and a half, but it goes really fast. It is a little chilly inside the caverns, but during the summer is ok to just wear shorts.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank FabiLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews