We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place”

Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
542 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fascinating experiences. Glad we did it once. It's very far from anywhere to get here. The National Park itself is very nice. It's a must see one time thing. Spend several hours here.

There is not much food to purchase at the cave itself. Have a nice meal before entering. We got hungry and were disappointed by the food offerings. They don't want you to bring in your own food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank webtravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    147
    32
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Be prepared for a steep downward walk. It takes about 35-45 minutes to walk at a good clip. The swallows are flying in and out of the natural opening and it makes for an exciting start. Once in the cave, the drop continues until you feel like you are deep inside the earth. The formations are visible soon after it is dark and the walk to the rest area continues to be challenging. Before you disappear into the darkness, take one look back at the sky for a truly memorable scene.
This is my third time to the caverns and it always as beautiful and mesmerizing as the first time I saw them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Took my children down to the Caverns for spring break. The whole family LOVED it. Not a bad walk but be prepared. It is long. This is one of the better places that we have visited. Everyone had a great time. We want to go back in the summer to watch the bats fly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were here last year and wanted to see the caverns again. Excellent. Some recommendations:
Take water, Walk down and elevator up unless you are 20 yrs old. , Wear a knee brace if you need to. It is STEEP. It is 56 degrees in the cave. so, don't need to dress warmly...the temperature and the exercise will keep you warm!! Don't plan on eating at their restaurant. Not friendly and food is not good!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you have small kids get the audio tour!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The walk down should not be missed, even if you have small kids (I had 2 6 yr olds with me). The walk is nearly 1.5 miles of switchbacks, but gives you a real sense of the depth of the cavern. The big room is an additional 1.2 miles of walking and I dreaded the whining - but thanks to a helpful Ranger, we rented the kids' audio tour sticks and the time flew by! No complaining about tiredness until the last quarter mile to the elevator and they keep replaying the first piece and singing the "rules" song!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing