We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Giant Dome

Giant Dome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most impressive limestone formations in Carlsbad Caverns is the Giant Dome, which stands 62 feet high, 16 feet in diameter, and bears a resemblance to the Leaning Tower of Pisa.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's amazing when I saw those giant stalagmites. It's hard to imagine that those stalagmites have grown for thousands of millions of years and are still growing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SSLOVEKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool Formation”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Giant Dome is an unique rock formation that is quite large. It is one of the Carlsbad Cavern's truly amazing formations. If I remember correctly it is located in the Big Room.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Truly phenomenal structure”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It's hard to really describe the Giant Dome; it's such a unique huge rock formation, one of the Carlsbad Cavern's truly remarkable sites. You simply have to see this to appreciate it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DiveMoreWorkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Too incredible to describe”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A must see if you are traveling in New Mexico. We were touring the southwest when we decided to stop at the Carlsbad Caverns. It was so incredible that I can't describe how I felt but breathless.

To us, it was better then the Grand Canyon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Dome also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Giant Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing