We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave at Carlsbad Cavern”
Review of Big Room

Big Room
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest cavern in Carlsbad Caverns.
Meriden, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cave at Carlsbad Cavern”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Have good walking shoes if you plan a trip through the mile and a quarter trek of absolute beauty. The lighting is subdued to show off the special features of the cave. You will need to plan your time wisely and take some water along. There are steep inclines as well as declines. Not many places to set and rest but the trails are wide enough that you can stop and let others pass. There is a short cut which makes the trip less taxing but you will miss out on much beauty. Too dark for good photography but you can get some pics using your flash.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    77
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We visited Carlsbad Caverns on this past Memorial Day weekend. We chose to walk down the 750 feet into the cave. We saw some neat formations and enjoyed the walk. I do wish we had not forgotten the flash light. There were places that did get dark. Over all, an enjoyable experience.

Even though there was a fee to get in, if you hold a Disable Veterans Pass, it is free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Amazing Cave”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are wondering if it is worth going well out of your way to see this cave, then you should quit worrying and make plans to travel here. It is truly one of the most interesting places on earth. Come visit the cave, but watch the bats come out at night and you will understand how fascinating this place is. I think of Carlsbad as one of the most interesting places I've ever been. It's among my fondest memories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bring several camera batteries...you'll want to take LOTS of photos!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

There's so much to see in the Big Room. The self-guided loop took me a couple hours, but I stopped to read all the signs and take tons of photos. There's no fee for the Big Room (assuming you already paid the entrance fee for the park itself).

The Big Room is aptly named. It's absolutely h-u-g-e. It's footprint is about 6 football-fields including the end zones, and it's height is tall enough for the Statue of Liberty to do jumping jacks on top of her pedestal. It's relatively "wet" which means there are active cave formations everywhere you turn. It's very different than Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, and most parts of Mammoth Cave which are "dry" and inactive.

My favorite stops were the "Doll's Theater" and the "Totem Pole".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Take your time, and wear a light jacket. Please don't throw coins (and apparently wedding rings!) in to the pits. The rangers risk their lives cleaning it up afterwards.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Room also viewed

 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Big Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing