We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and non-strenous. Must see!”
Review of Big Room

Big Room
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest cavern in Carlsbad Caverns.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing and non-strenous. Must see!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We took the kids here for spring break. It was amazing. We've been to other cavens before, but i think the big room by far was the biggest and easies to manuver. Wish we came when we could see the bats. Only negative part is they are down to two elavators. Their two biggest elavators have been down for remodeling. So plan for long lines coming back up.

Helpful?
Thank soulmusiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    77
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gill, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“DO IT!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everyone else has described this room in using very desriptive language and all of it is very true. It Is AWESOME! The best piece of advice is to get the audio tour which is very informative and gives you a more complete picture of the caverns. If you only have time for one tour this is the one! If you can take the Natural Entrance . It helps to get a feel for the depth and the size of the caves and be brave and hike back out. It wasn't that hard and I felt a little kinship with the early explorers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Amazing Underground Experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fantastic formations, A Fairy Room, The largest Monolith in the Western Hemisphere! Pools of water so clear you think you are looking through glass. A paved pathway for wheelchairs but strollers and tripods are not allowed. Popcorn pillars and soda straw formations next to giant draperies of stone. A truely amazing self guided tour. You can get your audio guide in the gift shop.
Have a great time. I did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Mother Nature at her best”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The caverns were on our to do list as we traveled across country and we were not disappointed. We were able to use our Golden age pass so it did not cost us anything to enjoy this wonderous underworld. You are able to use this pass for the big room additional tours have a minimal charge. The mile plus big room self tour was candy for the eyes. Amazing what nature has done. Would recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful cave displays... makes Mammoth Cave look barren!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This easy 1.3 mile walk is just wonderful...... so many displays of speleotherms..... and their size is amazing. We lingered for over 2 hours but it can easily be done in less - we just kept taking photos......and standing in awe.

I've been to Mammoth Cave NP, and many other caves but this place is REALLY SPECIAL! It's no wonder it is a World Heritage site.

Take the time and enjoy your visit - it's otherworldly!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chicagonative_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Room also viewed

 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Big Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing