We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST TO VISIT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Reef National Park

Capitol Reef National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.00*
and up
Robber's Roost Canyoneering Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A MUST TO VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot describe the beauty of this Park. The scenery and colours were amazing, lots of trails to hike or just site at the visitors centre and take in the beauty. We were only there for a short while but really enjoyed ourselves would definently go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoMo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    214
    46
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bring your hiking boots and trekking poles! This park has some amazing hiking trails. The visitor center was crowded and busy when we arrived in the mid-late afternoon, but the park is very large and once you leave the visitor center it no longer seems crowded. The weather was quite warm - about 10 degrees above normal for this time of year, but as long as you bring enough water on your hikes it's great. We were able to hike twice here. We hiked the Cohab Canyon trail, and the Fremont River trail. Once you gain a little elevation, it's like you can see forever. There were a couple of hikes that we didn't have time for, and we didn't know until we talked with a ranger that the Hickman Bridge trail was closed due to a rock slide, but we had a wonderful time. Take the scenic drive to the end of the road. It is very pretty to see, and gives you a chance to relax and look at the scenery. The park is very quiet in the early morning, so if you are looking for solitude, you will definitely find it here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An under valued national park with less traffic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

There are no lodging or food options in Capitol Reef. A good option is to eat and/or stay in the town of Torrey which is only a short drive away from the entrance to the park. There is a Howard Johnson and Best Western as well as several other lodging options. A good place for breakfast or lunch in town is the Canyon Reef Inn and Cafe. Driving into the park from Torrey, we saw the Chimney Rock formation. We then turned off the road a short way to view Panorama Point. Returning to the main road, we saw The Castle. There is a view area on the right side of the road. Entering the park, we stopped at the visitor center to see the exhibits, view the movie, and get a map, etc. We took the scenic drive stopping to view elements of the pioneer town of Fruita: the orchard where peaches, apples, cherries, apricots, and pears were grown; the blacksmith shop, the one room schoolhouse, and the Gifford Homestead (1908). We stopped at various pullouts and viewpoints along the paved portion of the scenic drive and then returned to the visitor center to turn right and exit the park via west route 24, stopping to view the Fruita school, petroglyphs, and Capitol Dome. The rocks were just as red as Zion and Bryce, the scenery breath-taking, and the park was much less crowded. The rocks change color throughout the day. There are some easy and difficult hikes available in the park. However, most of the access to the easier trails and some of the moderate to difficult trails requires some driving on gravel roads.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mpollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
608 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
“Capitol Reef National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Capitol Reef is part of a 100 mile area that was created some 65 million years ago when dinosaurs roamed the landscape. The "Waterpocket Fold" defines the landscape with it's bulging uplifts, rainbow-hued sandstone reefs and canyons. Entrance to the park is free. There is a visitor's center which is open 8-4:30 and has geology, natural science abd cultural displays. A short orientation video is also given. As with all National Parks, Rangers will assist you in planning an itinerary for the duration of your stay. The highlights of Capitol Reef are the Fremont petroglyphs, the Mormon Homestead, the school house, blacksmith shop, Ripple Rock Nature Center. the Fruita (orchard) and the 16 mile Scenic Drive and backcountry. There are two dirt roads off the Scenic Drive which take you to Cathedral Valley where you walk between vertical cliffs. The Scenic Drive ends in a loop where you turn-around and head back to the visitor's center. The Scenic Drive costs $15 dollars but is free with a Senior Lifetime Pass or other National Park Pass. The Fruita grows apple, peach, cherry, pear, and apricots. Pies and other baked goods are available during the harvest season. Eat what you like for free. If you want to pick and take home there is a minimal fee. They have historic and heirloom varieties. Off of Scenic Highway 24 westbound and about a 1/2 mile from the visitor's center you will find the old school house and Fremont (700 AD-1250 AD) petroglyphs. Capitol Reef and the Hickman Bridge are just down the road on Highway 24. I wish I was there for the fruit harvest. I would have given the park a 5 star rating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank duck8to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After spending many years exploring the mountains of Colorado, We were shocked at the incredible beauty that we saw driving up to and through this park. It is a magnificant place. The scenery and rock formations change at every turn and each is more magnificant than the last. If we would have known what the National Parks of Utah had to oiffer, we would have visited them many years ago. It basically is natural beauty that has not been spoiled by commercialism as many other similar places have been. Even after you leave the park, the scenery continues to be incredible. We are now off to see the others...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank exauctioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Reef National Park also viewed

Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 

Been to Capitol Reef National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing