We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular rock formations and some surprises”

Capitol Reef National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.00*
and up
Robber's Roost Canyoneering Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
402 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Spectacular rock formations and some surprises”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We camped in the campground in Fruita. That was a surprise - a former Mormon pioneer community with a fruit tree orchard and a farmhouse that sells fresh fruit pies. The campground was clean, in a beautiful setting. In mid-April it turned quite cold, and we awoke with one inch of snow on our tent! We hiked the trail through the canyon at the end of the nearby Scenic Road (entry is on the honor system) and hiked to the petroglyphs and tanks - large ponds of water in basins etched into the rocks - in a desert! The hike was a bit adventuresome as the cairns (trail markers of rocks) were few and far between. This is a quiet and must-see park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    224
    47
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very interesting geology, and very quiet park”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we only spent and afternoon here and would have liked more. we did the scenic drive, the end of which was beautiful, and saw the petroglyphs, which we found very interesting, they look like robots. the layers of rock were amazing, such different colours together, blues, reds, yellows. highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susannah365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadero, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy and calm NP without the crazy, mass- tourists”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

A long and slender national park with some great day hiking for the average car tourist. Also offers a nice scenic drive with plenty of trail acccess points for day hikes.

For the more advanced hikers, canyoneers, etc, drive south along the Burr Trail and hit up the Moseys, or the Narrows. 4wheel drive recommended, and some seasoned backcountry experience. You will not be disappointed by its remoteness and beauty.

Very helpful rangers and good little museum at visitor center explaing geology of the park's history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Sulphur Creek hiking is the best!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am surprised that the Sulphur Creek hike has not been mentioned as an attraction in the park. I just returned from a trip to the park a week ago (early April) and I must say the the Sulphur Creek hike was the best part of our trip. It is a 5-mile hike from the Chimney Rock trail head to the Visitor Center, much of it wading through ankle-deep water in the creek, with spectacular views of the canyons along the way. The section of narrows between the first and third waterfalls is particularly enjoyable and can be lots of fun for children who are able to negotiate some rock climbing to avoid the waterfalls. The following web sites contain more information and some pictures:
http://climb-utah.com/Capitol/sulphur.htm
http://www.ajroadtrips.com/go/t/utah/capitol-reef/sulphur-creek

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Remote and breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Capitol Reef is stunning, though less well known than Zion / Bryce Canyon or Arches / Canyonlands, let alone the Grand Canyon. It's worth spending two or three nights in nearby Torrey, UT as a base for the many scenic drives, hikes, and bouldering / scrambling opportunities Capitol Reef has to offer. My wife, son and I recently visited and all of us had a terrific time.

The Park is quite large and only a small part of it is accessible via the main road, Utah 24, that cuts through East - West by the Visitor Center. The activities here center around Scenic Drive; you can easily spend several days on this 10 mile stretch of paved road. There's a good dirt road (fine for even low-clearance passenger cars) off of Scenic Drive to Grand Wash. At the end of Scenic Drive you can continue down the good dirt road to Royal Gorge for another two or three miles. It's worth driving all of these and stopping frequently to explore or to hike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Reef National Park also viewed

Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 

Been to Capitol Reef National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing