We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pies”
Review of Gifford Homestead

Gifford Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Park Service has renovated and refurnished the Gifford farmhouse as a cultural demonstration site to interpret the early Mormon settlement of the Fruita valley. The house depicts the typical spartan nature of rural Utah farm homes of the early 1900's. In addition to the farmhouse, the Gifford homestead includes a barn, smokehouse, garden, pasture, and rock walls.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good pies”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Park overall was interesting. Was to 8 parks in 10 days. Cant understand the people who parked in all the handicapped spaces and had no permit. Idiots. No one got a ticket either. This homestead was quaint and clean. Nice visit. Good pie. Friendly girls working there. Worth the stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hottubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“More scones needed and pumpkin butter heaven”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The American scones here are truly out of this world - I have never tasted anything like it. Far better than the English scones we get back home. Unfortunately due to hiking the park in the morning we missed out on American scones on our last 2 days here. The cherry pie was a worthy second although a bit sweet for me.

The pumpkin butter was amazing, shame the recipe book they sell doesn't include it - never mind bought 2 jars to take home. If in Capitol Reef NP be sure to stop here for some goodies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martintracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
503 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis...stop and get some salsa and chips!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here to procure some scones that we saw in the visitors center and not only did we buy those we also bought some of the best salsa and chips we have ever eaten! If you are taking the scenic drive, be sure to stop here and get some delicious, fresh, tasty treats!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Pies made by Cafe Diablo!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved the self guided tour through this little home in CR Park. The gift shop has local made aprons, local bottled goods (salsa, pickles, jams) We purchased some pumpkin butter. Lots of fun samples. The gift shop also features ice cream and individual pies made by Cafe Diablo in Torrey. Flakey crust, hard to pick between Strawberry rhubarb, peach, blueberry, berry, cherry or apple!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family date night spot”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When I come to stay with my family in Wayne county we almost always try to make it down to the Gifford House for some pie and ice-cream. I love the location and enjoy taking my kids there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gifford Homestead also viewed

Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 

Been to Gifford Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing