We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful solitary drive along the Waterpocket Fold.”
Review of Burr Trail

Burr Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Old cattle trail which is accessible by 4WD vehicles.
Cedar City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A beautiful solitary drive along the Waterpocket Fold.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had previously done the Burr Trail from Boulder to the Notom Rd. and south to Bullfrog Marina. On a recent trip we did the Burr again then north on the Notom through Capitol Reef to Hwy 24.
Utah was having a wet July so we checked to be sure there hadn't been any recent washouts. I Utah does wonderful maintenance on it's unpaved roads and the Burr was no exception. The 30 miles through dramatic redrock canyons, followed by exciting tight switchbacks that drop 800 ft. in 1/2 mile and the colorful, desolate beauty of the lonely dirt road that follows along the Waterpocket Fold is our idea of a perfect drive. The voluminous clouds of Utah's afternoon monsoon skies only added to the drama.
We were in our truck this trip, because we had other drives planned that would require higher clearance, but we've done the Burr Trail and Notom in our Honda Civic. It's another great Utah drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Even better than the scenic Hwy 12”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're planning on travelling through Hwy 12, definitely consider replacing the part from Boulder up to Hwy 24 with a combination of the Burr Trail Road and Notom Road. The scenery on this route is absolutely spectacular and is one of the best I've been on. You'll drive through narrow canyons and witness a whole range of colours on the landscape.
Do note that you'll need a full day to travel the stretch between Bryce Canyon and Moab if picking this route as there's 30 miles of unpaved road and you'll be stopping frequently to take photos.
Also since there's a significant stretch of unpaved road, use your own judgement to see if you can drive it. We had no problems with a SUV in light rain and saw smaller vehicles travelling along the same route.
If you don't decide to go down the unpaved route, make sure to walk up to the top of the switchbacks in Capitol Reef SP (well visible on a road map) before turning back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing MI
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We only went about 10 miles”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got to 'the Gulch' which was a stretch of road that went thru a canyon.We turned around after about 10 miles or so. Night was approaching and we only had a 1/4 tank. I'd like to come and finish the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobCodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK - if the weather is/has been dodgy and you do not have a high ground clearance vehicle then get advice at a Visitor Centre (eg Escalante or Boulder) before trying this. BUT the first 30 miles or so are what they call 'paved' - i.e. a proper road surface. Only after you cross into Capitol Reef NP does it become a washboard dirt track - but even that seemed to have a pretty good surface for the short distance we walked along it. The scenery is varied and stunning. There are good examples of Navajo sandstone formations; of 'desert varnish' on the vertical rock faces; a great red rock canyon and the most beautiful vistas and colours when you reach the views across to Capitol Reef and the Waterpocket Fold.

But one of our highlights was a small but lovely slot canyon - about 11 miles in from Boulder, by a pull-off on the left. It is only a couple of hundred yards (maybe less) deep, but nonetheless fascinating. Makes a great lunch picnic spot, since there are some fallen cottonwood trees near the entrance to use as benches.

Take at least two to three hours out to do this. You will not regret it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Skivacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Road Through The Waterpocket Fold”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This road is a dirt road through the bottom of Capital Reef National Park. We came at this road from Lake Powell. Bullfrog. So we went up the road to the top of the plateau that start the Ecalante Starcase formations. First of all, the road is a series of tight, very tight switchbacks that rise quickly to the top of the Fold. The rock formations are so close you can touch them. It is an amazing journey through beautiful geology. That whole area is nothing but beauty. The road conditions this year were excellent. No water on the trail. The Burr Trail is dirt only in the National Park. Once you pass out of the Park boundaries, it is paved.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jmorrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burr Trail also viewed

Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 

Been to Burr Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing