We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Canyonlands National Park
from $239.25
More Info
from $119.46
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
560
116
19
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
560
116
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy hike short hike parking lot be patient popular spot photo opportunity great view the la sal mountains taking photos great pictures mile round trip visiting canyonlands early morning half mile the loop the cliff moab area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful single arch, if you have patience you can get a picture without people in the view. This is a short walk from the parking, you will need to be able to walk on uneven ground there is sand and rocks to move around, through or over depending on the pictures you are seeking.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Asiantraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mesa Arch at Canyonland National Park: it’s ironic that the most dramatic arch we saw was here and not at the Arches National Park. A traveler who did the same thing the day before suggested we do this! So we drove in the dark of early morning along Hwy 313 to arrive here before the 6:03 am sunrise. It was a long windy dark road (30 minutes?) from the park entrance but we arrived at the empty parking lot by 5:30. With flashlights in hand, we trudged about a half mile through sand, gravel, little boulders following a path marked with small rock cairns to get to the opening and the huge arch beyond that. About 20 others eventually joined us and we stood quietly among the boulders watching as the sun rose from behind the beautiful arch, through its “window”, illuminating all the rocks around us with reds, pinks and golds. It was magical. A photographer’s dream, there were many angles to view the Arch, through the arch, and looking far down below and beyond it. FYI – cover up well and use bug spray because there were so many tiny mosquitoes buzzing around us as we stood near the arch!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank carrigancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t go wrong with any of the hikes in Utah... Arches is amazing everywhere you look! I’d highly recommend hiking as many trails as you can!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KBudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Mesa Arch is on the very edge of the Island in the Sky mesa. Therefore, when you look through the arch you are viewing out into miles of canyon country. The arch itself, even though not extremely big, is quite impressive. We took the easy (the park rates it as easy) somewhat rocky trail (.5 round trip trail) to reach the arch. A fair number of people were around the arch but they were good about letting me get a photograph of the arch with no people in it. Of course, I took other photographs with people to show the size of the arch. It is really neat to get right up to the arch and take a photograph through it of the amazing canyon country out beyond. I know this is a popular sunrise destination. We visited about mid-afternoon. This put the sun at a good angle for photographing the arch. Definitely a must stop and see when you visit Canyonlands.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

It’s only about a half mile circuit to this stunning view. The hike is pretty easy as there’s not much change in elevation or much loose rock. Don’t miss this one!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews