We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful isolation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Needles

The Needles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area of Canyonlands has a great variety of rock formations and allows camping.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful isolation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hiking through Needles is like hiking through an uncharted territory (with cairns). Sometimes we wouldn't see another person for the whole hike. The scenery is unparalleled.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PoppyPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    43
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hiked the Chesler Park Loop for excellent view of The Needles - completely worth the hike. Bring plenty of water and start early - it gets really hot.
We started at the Elephant Hill Trailhead. Talk to the Park Rangers at the Visitors Center - they were really helpful in guiding us the right way...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gettysburg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Squaw flat campground and found it to be one of the most restful places we have ever stayed!
Come early in the day for the best sites with afternoon shade !
No reservations !
campground seems to turn over every day !Bathroom seems new with flush toilets sinks for doing your dishes and gray water disposal ,faucet and drinking fountain , all was very clean .
Visitor center was very nice with helpful staff.
Hiking was great ! long hikes can be quite hot Always bring lots of water with you at all times and drink it ! We brought 11 liters for 5 people and drank it all on a 8 mile hike !
Take your time here ! Enjoy the solitude ! Listen to the silence !
Take a hike ! Take 2 hours to eat breakfast on a rock and watch the sun rise ! explore the campground with your children and watch the hundreds of bats as as the sun slowly sets in the west !
Just a few ideas of my own !
Just a warning fill your gas tank before coming to the Park !
Bring all supply's to the park that you need ! very remote !
I go by the philosophie "If I didnt bring it I didnt need it "
Happy camping !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1964ApacheCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing sights!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Also this part of Canyonlands features some very good sights! I would say Island in the Sky is even more beautiful, but if you have some extra time, this is totally worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank lucaconfavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the trip with a trailer?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

RV'ers beware, the road to the Canyonlands NP (Needles District) is a long and winding 34 miles from US Route 191. Unfortunately, if you're towing, there is not a convenient place to drop your trailer or towed vehicle so to see this spectacular park you will need to haul it over some bad road. In some spots we had to slow to under 40 MPH due to the damaged road bumps that set up some wicked harmonic action with our 30ft. trailer. There is also a 10% grade drop over a mile that wasn't too bad. Was this NP worth the trip? Yes, absolutely, but you will miss the convenience of dropping your trailer closer to the main road like you can at Mesa Verde and Arches NPs. If I had to do this part of the park again I would make Moab my base of operations and drive South to see this area (and the Needles Overlook). Please note the Canyonlands Island-in-the-Sky district access road is actually North of Arches National Park (outside of Moab) so you will be driving a lot to see most of this wonderful NP.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kahunaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Canyonlands National Park, UT
Canyonlands National Park, UT
 
Canyonlands National Park, UT
Canyonlands National Park, UT
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing