We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyonlands National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyonlands Needles Outpost
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed at Needles Outpost half a dozen times with great service and experiences with the owner. The last time we went though, we arrived late and she'd given away our campsites, denied that we'd had reservations, and yelled and screamed at us to leave her campground. Complete psycho! Great campground just down the road at Hamburger Rock. We will NEVER spend another dime at the outpost!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onewithwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    13
    6
    24
See reviews for
39
40
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed here about 3 years ago and the owner was fine to deal with in the AM. as the day went on she would drink and get mean. This time we were late and got there abput 5 and she was drunk and mean and say words my 9 yearold did not need to hear. To drive a 150 miles or more to go back to Moab for a camp ground is to much. You just cant deal with the owners moods STAY AWAY

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canyonlands National Park hotels

Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The woman who owns this campground has issues. Very scary, felt unsafe dealing with her. Free camping all along the road and paid camping in the park. Avoid. If you must get a shower, stop in and pay and hope you catch her on a good day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank korcepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I have stayed there twice (2005, 2008). It is great location for quickly getting to Canyonlands. One big bonus - clean hot showers. The campground has a lot to offer - nice views during the day, try climbing the rocks to see the sunset and look at the stars at night. The bathrooms are clean and the owners are very nice and helpful. There is ice, food, beer, etc available at the store. One note of caution, if it has rained heavily at some point in the summer the mosquito's can be quite bad. Coyotes and foxes can sometimes provide some nighttime entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVMAN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The setting is picturesque, the campsite well laid out and the facilities clean and well maintained, but I did find a few things unsatisfactory. I felt the roads are not appropriate for a two wheel drive, the showers were expensive at $3 for a five-minute trickle of hot water, no power outlets in the bathrooms and on arriving I didn't feel welcome as I waited while the staff chatted about the upcoming weekend.
It is convenient to the Needles section of Canyonlands National Park and seems the only option when the Squaw Flat Campground within the park is full (as it often is in the shoulder/high season - arrive early!) and offers facilities not available within the Park such as showers and food (groceries and cafe).

  • Liked — Convenience to the Needles Section of Canyonlands National Park
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudwigLeichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

The Needles Outpost is a wonderful and welcoming place. Gary and Tracy are the nicest, coolest, and most resourceful people you ever want to meet. Their facility is just fascinating. If you go, check out the largest private solar array in the country! Plenty of ice at the Outpost! What they are able to create in that remote, harsh climate is just jaw dropping. A true oasis in a gorgeous part of the Southwest. Those two are doing it all at the Outpost and doing it really well!
The camping is great, (preferred it over the park service campground). There are nice private sites in the shadow of some great outcroppings overlooking the desert and the Needles N.P. And best of all... SHOWERS! Try getting one of those down at the National Park.......
The breakfasts that Gary cooks up are really DEE-lish. My partner and I ate there on two mornings in June '08 really enjoying the food and chatting it up with Gary and Tracy at the store.
Provisions and Gasoline too in a spot you'd not expect.......
Thanks goes out to Tracy for saving our roadtrip across the West! Luckily we chanced upon the Needle Outpost at that point in our travels. My partner's recent leg wound was looking pretty sketchy and she clued us in on the possible cause of the bad red inflammation. She thought it looked like a sun related reaction to some neosprin he used on his injury the day before when we went on a day long hike into the Needles. It looked so bad we were considering heading home to Tacoma right then and there with that injury. We chilled out once she pointed that out to us. Tracy knows her stuff. Tracy, If you chance across this post someday..... know you are an angel!
Needles Outpost--- a really great oasis in the beautiful Canyonlands. Don't miss it.

Helpful?
1 Thank palatineboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyonlands Needles Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands Needles Outpost

Property: Canyonlands Needles Outpost
Address: Hwy 211 Needles District, Canyonlands National Park, UT 84535
Location: United States > Utah > Canyonlands National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Canyonlands National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campgrounds, Showers, Gas, Propane and C-store Snacks, coffee ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Needles Outpost Hotel Canyonlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing