We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest toilets and showers I've ever seen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyonlands National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyonlands Needles Outpost
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The bathroom is spotless and cleaner than most hotels I've stayed in. The floor will get a bit dirty if it has been raining and people track in mud.

As far as the negative reviews go... keep in mind this is a private campground on private land. Tracy and Gary (well, mostly Tracy) do not appreciate visitors entering the campground and scouting the place for empty spaces. There is a sign that says 'registered guests only' on the road leading to the campground, and they mean it.

When you visit a B&B, do you blast past the owner, traipse up the stairs and check all the doors, and take a peek in the unlocked rooms prior to clumping back downstairs to tell the owner 'I put my bags in 8A, I'll take it'???? Yet this kind of behaviour gets people booted out of this campground... possibly leading to great anger and bad reviews for the campground.

For tourists unaccustomed to desert dwellers in the American West, well they are a different breed. Mostly private, independent, and will not suffer fools. Keep in mind that there is absolutely no entertainment or neighbors for the proprietors, so they only have themselves and their guests for pleasant chats. If you show up expecting commiseration and an emotional lift because you're stressed from driving for 12 hours and finding Squaw Flat campground is full... well you need to take your meds!

The owners are great; they have a lot of work to do all day to keep the place running so don't have a lot of time for chit-chat, but if you catch them when they're relaxed you can get a lot of good info from them.

The campground itself is beautiful; the one in the national park has water but no showers, whereas Needles Outpost has great hot showers, flush toilets, a small restaurant (breakfast/lunch) and a store stocked with emergency items.

The campsites nestled next to the sandstone mountain are beautiful with awesome views and some shade trees. We stayed four nights out in the 'flats'; no trees, just sagebrush.

Room Tip: pick a site with trees next to the red rocks!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trappist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Canyonlands Needles Outpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We camped in April 2013 in Canyonlands Needles Outpost. We had a great time. The views were fantastic from out campsite. The sites were very private and there were showers. The location gave us quick access to the Needles part of Canyonlands.

Room Tip: We were in site 4 (great site)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfm1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

It's amazing this place exists in the middle of nowhere with everything you could possibly need. I am sure that this outpost has helped a multitude of people in what could have potentially resulted in a really bad situation. I have been there several times in the last 10 years without issue. All of the negative comments about this place are about the owner and frankly, id probably go a little nuts living in the middle of nowhere with a bunch of unprepared tourists in my camp. Five stars for being there and really having everything you could need.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Pjhoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Tracy & Gary were great; very friendly. They have lots of info & tips for this part of Canyonlands NP. Guided me to some ancient Petroglyphs just outside the NP border. Had a great Hotdog; also purchased some soda & water. Prices will high due the remoteness of the Outpost but that should be expected; everything has to be trucked in. I plan to got back in early April. We shared an interest in geology & cool rocks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DillweedCamper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hit Needles Outpost on my annual summer mtn bike/hike trip w/ my son. I read the reviews and approached with some trepidation- kept my speed down and treated the owners with respect and things went well. They recommended a great campsite and volunteer their binoculars so we could look at the stars. We picked up some firewood and enjoyed the evening. The good: you can buy a shower, firewood, and Hoodoo micro brews. The bad: some desert mosquitoes were out, phone calls weren't answered but there were some callbacks (not that I had service) and some sites are pretty exposed. The push: there are some nice campsites within the Needles district/park and I wished I would have spent a night there as well. Definitely would not hesitate to patronize Needles Outpost again for supplies, showers, and sleep.

Room Tip: Get a site close to the red rocks. Everything is a bit pricier and grittier in the remoteness so get...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lopakaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have visited Needes Outpost for many many years. We hadn't stopped for awhile and This year we were shocked when we stopped to get those last incidentals we would need for a week of camping. We walked into the store and was immediately insulted by this woman. Sight unseen she started calling us names and telling us how ignorant we were.

We decided to forego the few items we needed and not shop at the only place around. It would be better to go without than buy anything there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
17  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We read all the reviews before we decided to plan on getting some food for a scenic picnic in the Canyonlands. All 3 of us were delighted with everything. The owner went out of her way to welcome us, ask us how she could best assist us, etc. When we explained we were deciding whether to buy prepared food "from the grill" or sandwich makings from the refrigerated case, she did not hurry our decision. When I asked what was on the deli sandwich, she told us, and suggested that 2 would be sufficient to share. She was right! And the sandwiches were delicious, ham, turkey, choice of cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, red onion, choice of condiments, packed with extra paper plates, etc. She also was gracious several hours later, when we returned cold and damp from an unexpected change of weather, and gladly served us hot cocoa and hot tea, even tho' she had already closed the grill. We don't hesitate to recommend the Needles Outpost, for a bite to eat, camping food supplies, souvenirs, or hospitality.

Room Tip: Camping sites only - no other facilities for lodging.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DottMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyonlands Needles Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands Needles Outpost

Address: Hwy 211 Needles District, Canyonlands National Park, UT 84535
Location: United States > Utah > Canyonlands National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Canyonlands National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campgrounds, Showers, Gas, Propane and C-store Snacks, coffee ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Needles Outpost Hotel Canyonlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing