We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist Trap”

Ruby's Inn Cowboy's Buffet and Steak Room
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Cowboy's Buffet & Steak Room, an old western eatery located inside the historic Ruby's Inn! We take pride in offering the finest steak, ribs, chicken, and seafood in the area, and our seasonal buffet is a smorgasbord of delicious hot and cold entrees, vegetables, hors d'oeuvres, and more. There's sure to be something for everyone at Ruby's Inn Cowboy's Buffet & Steak Room! We have a full service bar and our menu changes seasonally, so there will always be something new for you to try when you visit us. Whether you're local or just in town for a vacation, make your way to Ruby's Inn Cowboy's Buffet & Steak Room! We're looking forward to serving you.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We ate here because it is one of the few places around Bryce Canyon to eat. Service was poor and slow and the food was not good. It's the first time I have seen my partner only visit a buffet once.

On our second evening at Bryce, we went to the fast food take out and are in our hotel room.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namrogeht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    738
    789
    351
    254
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even though the menu doesnt change, it's worth coming back for”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The restaurant is really busy, so you need to get there really early (5:00 pm) or expect to wait. But the buffett was really good (that is if you're not watching your waist line). You could tell the food was not for dieters (the salad bar was pretty skimpy on the veggies) but the pot roast, spare ribs, potatoes and gravy and corn bread was so good we came back on our second day even though we knew it was the same menu. The servers were a little slow, but since the place is really hopping, I'm not surprised.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyhomerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Expensive, food ok, service ok, you can do better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than expected, but order off the menu, not the buffet”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western (part of the same complex) across the street and there is no restaurant there. We walked over and although the waiting area was mobbed and we expected a long wait, we were seated in about 15 minutes. There is no bar to wait at, but you can go into the gift store/market and buy a beer and sit in the lobby while you wait for your buzzer to go off.

When we entered the dining room, it was rather crazy, crowded and noisy. We expected this to be like a cattle call, but were actually presently surprised. The steak and shrimp were cooked perfectly and delicious. Along with the sides, I couldn't finish my dinner, there was so much food. Our server was very pleasant although I did have to as two or three times for a refill on my water. I think the price for the combo was around $21, fairly reasonable for the amount of food you get.

No one in our party had the buffet, which seemed to be popular with many of the families, but my husband did get the salad bar. He said the buffet did not look too appetizing and would not have ordered that.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WildCatWmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Buffet...food was okay at best, but there's not many places to eat in this town.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Buffet or off the menu, no difference, same old mediocre food. It filled my stomach, but was not unlike cafeteria food. Lots of starch. The best tasting thing was the mashed potatoes. But, the thing is, there's not much by way of places to eat in this town, you're stuck! Our waitress was tired and bored. Going through the motions....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rncarol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Inn Cowboy's Buffet and Steak Room also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Ruby's Inn Cowboy's Buffet and Steak Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing