We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average service and food, expensive prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average service and food, expensive prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A friend and I stopped at Foster's to take a break from exploring Bryce Canyon Lodge. The service was slow to take our order, provide refills and get our food. The food was expensive but decent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    257
    143
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
“A great dining place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived with a party of 12 tired motorcycle riders, they got us seated within 5 minutes and the food was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent for middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Surprisingly good given location and outward appearance. No food complaints. I really liked the Reuben sandwich. The service was top notch. Deserts were the highlight. We had 7 different pies and 7 smiling faces. My only complaint was no mixed drinks and single brand wine. Has selection of beer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Limbicsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Blueberry pie!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a mixed meal here- one great steak, one average, bad appetizer, good soup, average salad BUT the blueberry pie was outstanding!!!!! Homemade, very short pastry, homemade ice cream accompanying, wow!

Just stop here for the pie, don't worry about the rest!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toriarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Three Good Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good restaurants in Panguitch, UT are lacking. We had read reviews about Foster's which is out of town so we pulled in there. After being on the road and eating fast food their French Dip was awesome - tender prime rib on a hoagie bun. I didn't have pie but the rest of our crew did and the reports were good. I returned another day and had the BBQ sandwich which again was tender prime rib plus homemade fries. It did not disappoint. The third visit was for breakfast on the way home and again we left happy. My husband tried the stir fry and that was Ok. The food I had at Foster's was better than the meal I had at the Bryce Canyon Lodge. The outside of the restaurant is deceiving but once you get inside it's open and comfortable - lots of windows to look out of. One must remember when judging restaurants that everyone has individual tastes. A gourmand may not find a family restaurant exciting while a hungry family on the road looking for a decent quality meal may find Foster's hits the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Servicecounts4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing