We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Blueberry pie!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Blueberry pie!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a mixed meal here- one great steak, one average, bad appetizer, good soup, average salad BUT the blueberry pie was outstanding!!!!! Homemade, very short pastry, homemade ice cream accompanying, wow!

Just stop here for the pie, don't worry about the rest!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toriarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    276
    149
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, SD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three Good Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good restaurants in Panguitch, UT are lacking. We had read reviews about Foster's which is out of town so we pulled in there. After being on the road and eating fast food their French Dip was awesome - tender prime rib on a hoagie bun. I didn't have pie but the rest of our crew did and the reports were good. I returned another day and had the BBQ sandwich which again was tender prime rib plus homemade fries. It did not disappoint. The third visit was for breakfast on the way home and again we left happy. My husband tried the stir fry and that was Ok. The food I had at Foster's was better than the meal I had at the Bryce Canyon Lodge. The outside of the restaurant is deceiving but once you get inside it's open and comfortable - lots of windows to look out of. One must remember when judging restaurants that everyone has individual tastes. A gourmand may not find a family restaurant exciting while a hungry family on the road looking for a decent quality meal may find Foster's hits the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Servicecounts4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Due to limited choices of restaurants to go to in Bryce...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

There are not many choices of restaurants to eat at Bryce but we are glad we ate dinner here. We spent almost $60 but it was worth it. Blueberry Pie rocks. Berries pie was fair. We went out feeling full and in a good mood to end the night because the pie was really good and some food are really good. The beef cabbage soup was hearty but very oily and salty, it taste really good but was worried about my cholesterol since fat is floating on this soup. They don't really advertise healthy food so not expecting light healthy dish. French dip was good as well as lemon chicken. Service is slow,understandably so because this place is busy and packed! And for a good reason: it's way better than other restaurants at Bryce. Money spent was worth it knowing that we would probably spend more in other restaurant and the food wouldn't be as good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
233 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived on a hot evening in mid-May and when we walked in and complained about the temperature we were told that they had a problem with the AC. It took my suggestion that they should keep the doors open to get some ventilation [Duh!]. We saw them opening the doors as we left the parking lot. We hope the food is better than their common sense.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaBlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak and pie....oh my!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

A good 7 miles from Bryce Canyon. There were quite a few busloads of tourists near the Visitors Center so we chose to head towards Tropic. Fosters was a great alternative! The T-bone and pepper steaks were super! Baked potato wasn't cooked: should have chosen the mashed potato! Foster's Berry pie was delicious! Nice atmosphere/ friendly service. We were glad we drove a little bit away from the canyon entrance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seniorcitizen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing