We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place for dinner!”

Foster's Family Steak House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a cool place for dinner!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Had dinner here during a visit to Bryce. Our visit started by getting a recommendation from the waitress for the best spot to see the sunset, which was truly awesome.When we got back, we had a really good steak dinner. I had the Prime with bell peppers, which I really loved, and husband had the Filet Mignon, which he loved too. It was a very good deal with the great soup.For dessert we checked out the famous pies. My lemon marange was so-so, but his chocolate creme pie was super good.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    290
    159
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not amazing, not terrible either”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Went to Fosters after reading the poor reviews of the Ruby's Cowboy Buffet. I mean, not a lot of choices here. The place has been in the same family for three generations, and the place looks like it. Spare booths and tables in one big room. The salad bar only has about five things in it, but contrary to previous reports, there were spring greens mixed in with the iceberg lettuce.
Croutons and bacon bits for toppings and something that I guessed was macaroni salad.

I ordered the special herb rubbed chicken breasts. They were cooked fine, a little on the dry side, and came with a side of honey mustard dip, which looked and tasted like it came from a commercial bottle. The grilled veggies were tasty, not too much butter. The rice pilaf was fine.
I had the coconut creme pie for desert, which came on a light Graham cracker crust. It was very light, but too sweet for my taste.
All that plus a Provo Girl beer Came to just under $20 plus tip.

All in all it was not bad, but it's definitely not gourmet.
All in all didn't knock my socks off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining option”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Given how limited choices in the vicinity are this is a pleasant option. Booths by the windows allow good views and the waiting staff were friendly and efficient. Main courses (t-bone and prime steak) were enjoyable, slightly above average rather than great. The cheese cake however was excellent. Chasing Tail pale ale was worth trying. Recommended for casual dining.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I tried this place after dining at Ruby's the night before. What a difference! The food was fresh, the salmon was nicely grilled, as were the fresh vegetables that came with it. The server was very pleasant and effecient. Coconut cream pie for dessert was outstanding. This place is SO MUCH better than Ruby's that it's not even funny. If you can get over the country music and cattle skulls displayed on the wall, go for it! Price is also less than Ruby's.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It is a gamble to eat here”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Before our visit I read many reviews both good and bad about Foster's. I decided to take a chance and eat their. Not a good decision. One reviewer said it was half the price of Ruby's Inn, NOT true, maybe 20 per cent cheaper. The quality of the food was probably 70 per cent lower. For example, my wife got a "French Dip" which was full of gristle. When she complained the server said it was hand carved. So can't the gristle be carved out by hand? I would not go there ever again. The Subway up the road would have been a much better choice.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverkryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing