We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, excellent!”
Review of Sunset Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, excellent!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in loop A site 214 for 3 nights and had a wonderful and peaceful experience. We didn't have any neighbors and had a nice large campsite. The bathrooms were fine, no soap or towels and no showers but overall clean. The camp hosts were very nice and obviously care a lot about the campground, they were out everyday day cleaning and checking on us. We would definitely come back and stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ritina1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

No car and tent camper gets deeper into the heart of Bryce than those who stay in Loop C at Sunset Campground. We simply loved our campsite here! The RV campers are well away in Loop A. The sites are spacious, with abundant trees and vegetation for shade and privacy. The ground is soft so you can get tent stakes in easily. You can do dishes in a wash basin in the rest room building. Overall, the grounds are clean and well-kept, with bins near the entrance for your trash and recyclables.

And the location could not be better! You are close enough to walk across the road to Sunset Point, jumping off spot for the world famous (and deservedly so) Navajo and Peek-A-Boo loop trails. Be sure not to miss these trails--parts may be strenuous but the earth is soft, shade is available when you need it, and the surrounding scenery is jaw-dropping. We also liked stopping
in at the nearby lodge, where we went in the evening for a very engaging ranger presentation
("Bryce Canyon Rocks!" by Geoff Goins).

For first rate camping in one of our most stunning national parks, Sunset Campground is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jtimothyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in C125, a tent-only loop. Sites were close together but we had plenty of room for 2 tents, 4 chairs and gear. Flush toilets, drinking water, firewood and garbage dumpsters available. After the scorching heat of Arches, we were thankful for the shade and quiet, crisp nights. Our kids loved riding bikes around the campground and riding to Sunset Point Rim Trail for hikes. Hot showers available for $2 at general store (the best $2 I've spent all year). To be this close to the Bryce Canyon Amphitheatre was exhilarating; we watched the supermoon rise over the spires. No view from campground however. Restrooms could've been cleaner and better stocked with TP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sunset ranks among the best campgrounds in all the National Parks and I have been to all of them. Sure, there are no showers but camping doesn't need a shower everyday. What makes this campground so wonderful is the spaciousness of the sites. Most of our National Parks do not put an emphasis on privacy and room to move about. Sunset does and it is much appreciated. They are immaculately cared for and since this is my fifth time to Bryce, I believe that this is the norm. The restrooms match the site and are maintained extremely well. For those of you not used to NP campsites (Yellowstone is the exception), stretch out and enjoy this one. Happy camping and say hi to the chipmunks for me. They are everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrJ9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We camped in the Sunset Campground end of June 2012. We had managed to get a reservation for 1 night in loop A, and stayed 3 more nights in loop B. The way it works is the following: you can reserve a spot in loop A (and a few extra spots in loop B). The rest of loop B is "first come, first served) and for tents only. Loop C is for RVs, unless A and B are full, in that case, tents are allowed for 1 night in C.
I was a little afraid we wouldn't find a spot in B after our first night, but no worries. It usually filled up by noon, but before that, there were always a few spots available. Loop C never got full.
The campsite was big, we always had some shade here or there. The nights are cold. It is extremely dusty, so you sometimes wish for a shower on the campsite. The bathrooms are clean, and it is a pleasure to do the dishes! the water is warm, you've got a sink and some extra space to put the dishes. It is an excellent place to stay to enjoy this wonderful NP.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 41Peterpan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Big pitches, clean toilets, no showers other than at the main village area

Shuttle bus if needed with plenty of parking at the key locations

Camp Shop a little expensive with a limited range on offer, stock up before you get there, especially the fruit

Never mind that, just take in the views that are on offer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gwlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Of the 6 National Park campgrounds, this was our least favorite. It is still a nice campground but we got spoiled at Arches and the North Rim. There is plenty of shade and the location is great. We has one of the inside spots in group B, which were a little close to other people. Get an outside one if you can. The bathrooms were very busy, it seems like they do not have enough for the number of campsites they have. At least it seemed that way. Still beats being outside the park, plus the national park campgrounds seem to always quieter. I think people are busy all day site seeing, by 9pm they are beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon National Park
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,618 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#4 of 6 in Bryce
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Campground

Property: Sunset Campground
Address: Sunset Point, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bryce Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 161 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Campground Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
Sunset Campground Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing