We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunset campground”
Review of Sunset Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed the place. We lots of shade and having spent 4 nights in Lake Powell campground (very hot!) it was a nice change to be able to sleep at night. At breakfast every day chipmunks came to visit (do not feed them!!) Stelar jays also see whats going on, these are a really bright blue and lovely posing in the morning sunlight. As most campgrounds in USA fire pit, table and tent pads are always provided. We went to a couple of the Ranger talks and these are really good. The star stories about the native indians and how they relate to them followed by outside teliscopes, we actually saw Saturn, her rings and moons, and Mars. At the main tourist centre is a gift shop, theatre, and lots of information about the park. There is a very good shop for groceries at the park centre (a little over priced but not expensive) the showers are also in this area, with the laundry next to them.

Room Tip: Buy your food on the way to the campground and have some dollar coins for the showers and laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Briar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent the first 2 nights of our 5 night tent camping trip at this beautiful campground. Our site was B256 and it was lovely but really it would be hard to go wrong at any site on loop B or C. The sites are heavily shaded with surrounding pines which provided adequate privacy and unparalleled beauty. Also, a big plus for us was to be surrounded with tents rather than RVs. Keep in mind that there are no electric hook ups on these loops but that was just fine by us. The bathrooms are nice enough, with the one up the hill and on loop C more modern and with a wash sink for dishes. This made cleaning dishes easy in the enclosed hot/cold sink. This campground hosts were visible throughout the day and provided oversight which we appreciated. This is a very quiet campground with people more interested in the beauty of Bryce versus partying so perfect for families, couples or anyone seeking solitude. While here, we hiked down into the canyon and were awestruck by the incredible beauty of the Canyon. We loved this park and will return. And when compared to the south rim of Grand Canyon, this is a more doable canyon in that you can easily see it within a few hours. Yes, it gets rather cold at night, even during the second week of June. Come prepared with layers and you'll be fine. It gets warm during the day, making the hike harder so I suggest an early or late in the day start for a canyon hike. Our only regret was not getting to do the horse back riding into the canyon which would have been beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KGtraveler622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The other reviewer is correct. Gets very cold at night. Bring a good sleeping bag and a head wrap and you are ok. I stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it. Peaceful grounds with decent sized lots. No facilities, but you can shower at the general store for a buck or two.

The park is nice, but you could see it in a day. I would spend more time at Zion and capital reef if I had to do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wisertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

It was memorial day weekend and we were lucky to get a camp site on Sunset on a first come first serve basis even though we got there on Friday evening at 8 PM. Visitor center closes at 8 PM but you can pick up the registration slip at the camp site and find an open camp. Keep checking the reservations webpage online before you leaver as you may find something due to cancellations. It was a very spacious campground with parking for 2 cars / Vans. They have water, and flushable clean toilets. The toilets have power plug ins for charging your phones. Yes - my verizon blackberry worked here. The camp sites got filled up by Sunday.

The day temperature (from 9 AM till around 6 PM) is warm hovering around the 70's F. The night temperature is brutal with winds reaching about 30F. We slept with our warm sweat shirts, gloves, caps and Socks (recommend 2 layers) on in a 20F Mummy sleeping bag but could still feel the wind ripping through at times.

Showers / Laundry:
There are showers at the general store (near the bryce canyon lodge) and also at the Ruby inn store outside the park. You can also get firewood as you really need it.

Food:
We took a Coleman stove top with Propane tanks which worked perfectly. The food options exist outside the park with Pizza places or deli type food from the grocery store.

Things to do:
Hikes - The sunset point is near the campground which leads to the 3 mile Novajo/ Queens trail. This is a must see as you can get down to the canyon and come up again in about 2 hours. You will need a liter of water at least - Park recommends 2 liters per person. You can also make this hike longer by starting at the Bryce point, going through Peekaboo loop and finishing with the 3 mile Novajo/ Queens trail.

Points to drive or take the shuttle: Bryce point, Inspiration point, Paria view (no shuttle) and quite windy, Sunset & Sunrise points.

Other options around were horseback riding on the trail along and ATV rides outside the park.

Spot Prairie dogs: When you get out of the Sunset camp and drive past Bryce canyon lodge exit towards the visitor center, you will see a road on the left where some cards are parked near open meadows (no canyon views etc). We wondered why they were parked and found that was a place to spot a couple of prairie dogs.

Overall, it was a great trip but a long drive from California.

Astronomy buffs can listen in on the sessions conducted by the park which may end in a viewing of the stars. You can spot so many stars with the open eye here which is a surreal experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank saarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We really liked the Campground: conviniently located to major scenic trails and points, lot of trees, good distance between sites, helpful rangers. Beware of the chipmunks though, they managed to sneak into our car to bite into a lot of food that we had carried :-). Showers at the general store were filthy and unclean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Sunset campground was great. We had to stay at a private campsite in Zion and it was acceptable but Sunset was cheaper, more spacious, and cleaner. We were there at the end of June and it got pretty cold at night. We had some good star gazing time, too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Sunset Campground has very spacious sites with plenty of room between sites. It is first come-first serve but was not full when we were there in early August. All sites are in a forest with great shade, which is very nice on hot days. The restrooms were kept clean and the whole campground was tidy. Two nice features--it was very close to a shuttle stop and a short walk to Sunset Point--one of the best viewing sites in the park.
Showers are at the store, not the lodge. They cost $2 and last for 10 minutes--the longest I have ever experienced. There is a laundry room there also and I never had to wait for any of it.
I drove through the other campground--North--and didn't like it as well as far as space and being in the trees. It is closer to the rim (although you have to hike over a ridge to see the view) and to the showers/laundry/lodge.
We stayed in the group sites and it was awesome. Unlike most places that have several group sites all together, there is only one group site and it is huge and has it's own bathroom. You must make a reservation for the group site.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
5  Thank Connie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon National Park
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,261 reviews
5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
573 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Campground

Address: Sunset Point, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bryce Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 161 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Campground Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
Sunset Campground Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing