We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peek a BOO!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peek-A-Boo Loop

Peek-A-Boo Loop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4.1-mile hiking trail, often steep, which is used by people and horses, and has a picnic area at the bottom.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peek a BOO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Weloved this hike away from most crowds-- yes the horse poop was a bit stinky but the fresh clean air of the canyon and the awesome "air conditioned" tunnel made up for any discomfort. Seeing the smiles on the riders faces as they trotted by was pretty special too. We hiked Navaho Loop and Peekaboo -- figure 8. We went down the least steep way first in order to protect or "old" knees-- great decision. The hike up was easily doable. I was a little disturbed by the people in flip flops on the Navaho trail-- don't do it! Wear good hiking shoes or at least sneakers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kristin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    42
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very beautiful hike in the heart of the Bryce Canyon. Hike is not easy with a steep climb from Bryce point when you start/finish there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
429 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Just the right distance for a 1/2 day hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice vistas, changing scenery with the lovely hoodoos, approx 3 hours round trip. Going counter clockwise feels a little less crowded. A busy trail, moderate hiking involved. Could do it in a pair of tevas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
249 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Hot and hilly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We started the trail right at sunrise thinking we would beat the heat and the crowds. We beat the crowds, but not the heat. My mother and brother weren't as bothered by the heat as they live in a hot and humid climate. We had the trail to ourselves and it was nice to get up close and personal with the Wall of Windows and the Three Wiseman (which wasn't marked by a sign post like the Wall of Windows). I do a lot of hiking and I wouldn't classify this hike as easy. From Bryce Point you switch back down to the floor of the canyon - and on the way back, you climb right back up those switchbacks - 1 miles worth each way. The other 3 miles in the Peek-a-boo lopp are hilly with some steep stretches. All of which were doable, but just be aware. There isn't much shade on the trail and there is a lot of horse poop left behind which was starting to smell around 9:30 am in the heat - so I recommend getting started nice and early!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Did a One Way and Used Shuttle for Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We hiked down Wall Street, connected with Peek-a-Boo and walked counter-clockwise past Wall of Windows and up to Bryce Point where we caught the shuttle back to the Bryce Canyon Lodge. Fantastic hike that never got old because there was a new view at every turn.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MatinicusRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peek-A-Boo Loop also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Peek-A-Boo Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing